Motivation logo

When Kindness Protects

Stay kind everyone. Because when kindness pays you back, humans on the outside looking in will think you have the perfect life.

By Annelise Lords Published 7 months ago 4 min read
Like
Image by Annelise Lords

In a discussion this morning with my husband about the difference in my twin boys when they were growing up.

My husband remarks, “Arman life is as easy as yours, unlike his brother.

For some of us, our kind heart sends light to guide our path. The more kindness we give, the more it shows in our actions, choices, decisions, life, living, thinking, etc. Kindness became a habit and way of thinking for many. We are surrounded by all the kindness we share with everyone.

As a child, one of them would share his lunch with others. His brother won’t. He shares everything he has, his tablet, computer, food, etc. He is the one everyone comes to my house and asks for. Anyone who needs help with math or anything else at school, he is the one who helps.

Humans are drawn to his generosity, and he gives and helps. He gives you your best and walks away. He will give away his lunch and go hungry.

His reputation carried him through his all-boys high school and helped to save his brother from being attacked many times. As twins, many teachers couldn’t tell them apart. However, few smart teachers use their habits, attitudes, and grades to determine who is who.

The kinder one took responsibility for some wrong things his brother did and because of his kind reputation, got mercy his brother wouldn’t have gotten.

They often switch personalities, but the kindness in the kinder twin overrides all negative personality changes. When the other twin does something out of character, like being too kind, he puts us on pause. We wonder if he is okay or if something is wrong.

We had a lot of fun growing up together.

I noticed the kinder twin features and attitude were changing. I investigate. Found out that he was getting frustrated from being too kind and getting cruelty in return.

My world can be cruel to their children.

They do hide stuff from me, but I can sense and read emotions as they grow and change.

I showed him that he must never stop being kind. It’s a light that guides you. Then I alerted him of the many ways life paid him back for his good intentions.

“How do I balance it mom?” he asked in pain.

‘Cruelty hurts and I must protect my heart?’ his emotion revealed.

This brought tears to my eyes. I too have been here, where I don’t want to stop being kind, but the cruelty of humanity just doesn’t know how or when to stop. I encourage him to use common sense with kindness. When you apply common sense, you will see everything clearly and will be able to detect if you are being used.

I encourage them to express themselves with respect and consideration.

Common sense is such a powerful tool.

I showed them how to use it in other areas of their lives.

My life isn’t easy. It never is, but I found out that the kinder I am, the fewer problems I have, and the more innovative I become. Whatever issues I face, creative, innovative, productive, and positive solutions find me. Everywhere I turn, I can find a solution and ways to live and survive with no harm to self and humanity.

I was told that I make the difficulties of life seem easy.

I am a black female living in a poor third-world country, nothing in my life is easy.

I am protected by kindness.

I found that it protects one of my sons more than the other. He hardly fails at what he does, and he is always learning. He is resourceful and adaptable. He doesn't have certain issues his brother faces and seems to always make better decisions.

If that’s the price for Kindness, go on, share it. Give it. Make it a habit.

He loves his brother so much that he will do anything to protect him. Anything.

His brother benefits from the compensation kindness repays to his twin. They do almost everything together.

At the end of their high school year. He outdid all his friends and brother in the Caribbean Secondary School Certificate gaining 6 ones and 2 twos. One and Distinction in Math, one in these: Physics, English Language, Principles of Accounts, History, and Information Technology. A two in English Literature and Biology.

His brother got 3 ones and four twos. He also failed English Literature.

I teach them to study their lives and how and why things happen because life pays you back. Humans pay us back too. But with your kind heart and habit, life and humans will pay you back. Then others on the outside watching will think you have life easy.

It’s just life paying you back for your kindness.

Stay kind everyone. Because when kindness pays you back, humans on the outside looking in will think you have the perfect life. And you do with the compensation from kindness.

Kindness Rocks!

Thank you for reading this piece. I hope you enjoyed it.

goalshow tohealinghappinessadvice
Like

About the Creator

Annelise Lords

Annelise Lords writes short inspiring, motivating, thought provoking stories that target and heal the heart. She has added fashion designer to her name. Check out https: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtisticYouDesigns?

for my designs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.