Motivation logo

What is it that you desire?

A world where the money is everything

By Ada ZubaPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Happiness

I was in high school, in the eleventh grade and I had no idea what I wanted to do with the rest of my life. Truth is at that age I did not give it much thought. I had great friends, I laughed a lot with them. Most of my friends in twelfth grade already knew what they wanted and were attending university studying various degrees from arts to science and there was me. I applied to The Southern Alberta Institute of Technology also known as SAIT. I only did it because my mom suggested I did so, but at seventeen you still have no idea of what you want or where to go with your life. You are still a child at age seventeen. I attended for a year and I found classes boring and the work tedious. I only really enjoyed one class and that was essay writing. In high school I struggled a lot with English, I found comprehension tests hard because I could not explain my thought process of why I thought the answer was c. It was all multiple choice, which is annoying. I either dug too deep with the text or I was too shallow.

Anyways, suddenly, at SAIT I kept getting 100% on every essay I wrote. I did not understand what I was doing differently. Then, it occurred to me, the reason why I was doing so well was that I was taught at a faster pace, I was taught at a different level. However, in my other subjects I was falling asleep or not caring enough to do well. I could care less about Excel and Word and get certified in it. I decided to drop the program. I found myself so lost, not knowing where to go or what to do. I worked a few weird retail jobs that I hated. Then, one of my friends from High School posted the above video and I watched it again. I felt an epiphany come to me, it was like a giant light bulb went off in my brain somewhere. I asked myself "how would I enjoy my life?" and I realized I wanted to write, I have always wanted to write. I applied to Mount Royal University, but I was rejected because of my low marks from High School. So, I had to change my life. I went to upgrading and got better marks than when I left high school. I applied to Mount Royal University to take open studies and I took three classes at a time, they all happened to be English classes. I enjoyed each one, my profs were inspiring and amazing. After my creative writing class, I realized this is what I was meant to do. I wrote a story and shared it out loud to the class and my prof was baffled by what I could do with words. He often assigned weird assignments. This one, he gave us an article and we had to create a short story using only those words in the article. He told me after the course was done to keep writing. Later, I applied to Mount Royal again this time with a goal in mind and I was once again rejected. My biology marks were too low. Then, on a whim, I applied to the same school my older sister was attending. To be honest I only applied to go to the same school to annoy her in the hallways and potentially follow her into every class she took. The joke was on me because I was accepted this time. Getting that letter was the weirdest thing in the world. St. Mary's University accepted me. During my time in university, I challenged myself in ways that I thought I never would. I took a history class, philosophy class and many odd English classes with intelligent professors who all had different personalities. They taught me so much and I could never thank them enough. We all go into education with the mindset that we will have a job and to make money, but if you hate your job is it worth staying at? Yes, you have children to educate and feed, but do they see your sadness? Yes, they do. You might be trying to hide it, but they see so much more than you anticipate. They see you struggle and those parents that enjoy their lives, the children are much happier.

We live in a world where we are concerned with getting money, and once we have money, we only want more money. It is a tragic world we live in right now. The video makes me feel like humanity has hope, we have hope to become what we want. We do not need to be tied down by money if there is something we want we should be reaching for it. After university I had no idea what to do, I was stuck again and once more I turned on the voice of Alan Watts. I found Vocal. I found a community where I could write what I wanted and earn a little pocket money. If you like what you are doing, then become a master. We all have interests some of us like reading, others like to create music and some of us enjoy doing math. It is stupid to do things you do not like for the rest of your life. We need to be happy in our lives if we are not happy with what we are doing, what is the point of doing it? Sure, we have to pay our dues to get what we want, but in the end, it is worth it because we will get what we want. We will finally say "I am so lucky, I get to go to work today". This video is what makes me happy, it is what motivates me to continue searching for a career. Not a job, but a career. There is a difference a job is what pays, a career is what makes you grow. We have one job on earth and that is to follow what you desire So, let me ask you "What is it that you desire?"

happiness

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello and welcome to my page. I love reading fantasy, mystery and thrillers. I am an Amazon Affiliate Marketer even if I make no money, but it keeps my spending habits down. I love writing in different genres and challenging myself.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Ada ZubaWritten by Ada Zuba

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.