Motivation logo

Confessions of a Shopaholic

Spending Too Much and Still Being Empty

By Ada ZubaPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

There are a lot of women out there who adore shopping and buying all the pretty things. Recently, I have had a breakthrough. I went to the mall the other day and I realized how awful we are. We build these corporate buildings and we support them by buying these cheap clothes and we just keep buying more and more, but do we need these things? I was always taught that a woman must look nice. I realized I was a shopaholic that needs to stop. I do not need those pants, those shoes, and that shirt. I have all of those things, yet I feel the need to buy, to be a consumer. After going shopping however, it feels unfulfilling, so I make it up to buy more items. I now look at my room and see the amount of clothing that I need to donate. I haven't worn certain shirts in more than a year and yet I keep them. I sometimes walk into a store and I feel guilty if I don't buy anything. I have walked in and the salesperson let me know what is on sale and I feel I have to buy it because she wasted her time talking to me. I see these expensive clothes and I want to buy it all, but it is not even my style. We need to stop consuming more and more clothes, it is toxic. Why can't I be happy with five shirts and a tank top? I have no idea why I have this need. It was my boyfriend's graduation recently and I had to buy him a present, but the issue was that it was not grad season yet... so I had to get creative. I bought him a box of Purdy's chocolates and a teddy bear because I could not find a little graduation bear.

I was looking at the people shopping and I saw a little girl trying to pull her dad into the store, and he said, "We can't today, but maybe some other time," and the girl started screaming. The dad stood his ground as people passed and stared. I was that little girl, screaming to get more and more, but the difference is that I do not need more. I need less. I have four closets and two boxes filled with clothes that alternate for the season. In the first one, I keep dresses; the second, my coats and jackets; the third, shirts and sweaters; the forth, I keep my jeans/pants in. I have a problem and I have identified it. How am I supposed to move out with all of that stuff? How am I going to find a place that is big enough for all the stuff I keep? The answer is that there is no place like that for me. I need to down size. I have pants that don't fit me. Come on girl, let's get rid of that stuff. Other people could use my clothes, so to the donation center I go; and I do not need to buy anything. Last time I was in the store. I was standing in line about to buy something when I realized, "I do not need this. This item is a want and not a need. I can live without it." I can survive without shopping. I can wait until I move out and I need to decorate the house and buy furniture. Those are the things I need. So, if you are anywhere nearly as spoiled as I am, then remember to tell yourself that you do not NEED it. You WANT it and that is a huge difference. Next time, when you walk into the store, walk out because you do not need to support the corporations that support child labor (that still goes on). Stop and think. Do you really need it? Do you?

I used to love going on hikes and going to the mountains. That's who I used to be, so I set a goal to be more in touch with nature around me. I used to have so much energy in me from being in the sun and drinking more water. I believe to overcome this shopaholic-ism, you need to touch nature. Go for a walk every time you have the need to buy something or go work out. Do something else. Keep yourself busy, and if you really need to shop, go grocery shopping for the things you need.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.