Motivation logo

What is beauty?

Who gets to be the judge and jury.

By heather pfeifferPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
What is beauty?
Photo by Drew Graham on Unsplash

Nowadays people are so into image and body shaming it's getting a little ridiculous. The other day my daughter comes home with tears in her eyes stating that she was called ugly. Now mind you my daughter is thirteen so she has heard a lot of mean comments that happen in middle school, however she is not normally the one receiving them. We did just move to a smaller city. Which might have a bit to do with it. However when I asked her she said “Momma because I wear glasses, I am a four eyed freak and I am too fat!”

So me being the momma bear that I am, asked for the kids names that made these hurtful comments, and was told “Snitches get stitches.” This was a laughable moment in my home because we all think we are comedians. She walked away and would not speak about it any further.

So here is a little background on my daughter. She is about 4 feet and 3 inches tall and she weighs barely a whopping 65 pounds and has dirty blond shoulder length hair, bright blue eyes but she indeed currently has a pair of stylish name brand glasses that bring out her eyes even more. In my opinion she is going to be a knockout. Shovel and shotgun is definitely going to be needed for sure. Hell we even have a sign that says “We don’t call 911.” with an image of a gun on the sign hanging in our entryway to one of our living rooms. Left by previous owner of the house, of course but fits into our crazy life.

I remember when I was in middle school in a small town, we would just punch the offender in the face or say meet me on the black top after school and then there would be a fight and crowd. Then something else crazy would happen. I personally have always been short. I am barely 5 feet and 1 inch and fluctuate between 120 pounds to 140 pounds depending on how much junk I have decided to eat, plus workouts missed. My hair changes often and I have blue eyes and wear glasses when I read. But I am a little weird. I grew up with a father that was a pastor of a Nazarene church. Which means strict as crud upbringing. So as soon as possible a monster was created.

Now when I say weird I mean goth stylish clothes, black and teal hair. I mean come on I am a San Jose Shark fan for heck say. But back to the point growing up I had to watch my weight and makeup was not allowed and neither was dating heaven forbid. Nowadays ladies have to wear a large amount of makeup or just the right clothes or be a size zero to be hot. Well I am writing this tidbit as a shout out to all women. It does not matter what size, height, or personality you have you are beautiful in your own way and if anyone says otherwise tell them to kick rocks and to look into their own mirror.

As the saying goes beauty is in the eye of the beholder or something like that or as an alternate part of the famous bible verse states “Let he who is without sin cast the first stone.” News flash most people have at least committed a sin since they have been born so they have no right to judge. So Keep your head up and keep being you boo! You're amazing. Hope this tidbit helped make you smile today.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.