Motivation logo

What Every Woman Looks for in a Man

After several years of research and experience, I want to share the true meaning of being a man

By Jordan MendiolaPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Photo by Rifqi Ramadhan from Pexels

Think about man who makes you feel like the most important person in the world. Imagine all of the aspects about him that make him irresistable and reliable. He’s pretty incredible right? Most men aren’t what he is and they’re hard to come by.

As someone who has worked on self-improvement and studies the psychology of why we think the way we do, I have come to some conclusive reasons for what it truly means to be a man.

Ever since I got into a relationship, I’ve learned several things about what it truly means to be a man.I want to be the best boyfriend that I possibly can, and it feels incredible to know that my girlfriend appreciates all of the little things I do aren’t going unnoticed.

When you meet someone you would consider your soul mate, things don’t seem real. It’s like a dream you don’t ever want to wake up from. You have to be realistic and know that there will be a conflict here and there, but as long as you’re both willing to work things out, then the bond you had when you first met will continue.

My incredible girlfriend has reminded me a lot about what it means to be a man and reassures me that I’m everything she’s ever wanted. It’s crazy to hear that. I didn’t expect there to be someone in the world who appreciates me so much.

Here are some of the things I’ve done that have confirmed to myself and my girlfriend precisely what it takes to be a man.

A Man is in Touch with His Emotions

When I’m feeling like crap and going through a tough time, I always make sure to voice it over to my girlfriend and everyone who means so much to me in my life.

On the other end of the spectrum, I make sure to share my positive energy when everything in life is going well.

The best thing a man can do in any situation is to have the self-awareness necessary to be vulnerable and ask for help when he needs it.

After I arrived home from my Army deployment overseas, I was struggling to feel connected to my work, people, and my goals. To open up about how you feel as a man takes a lot of courage and shows plenty of signs of maturity.

A man makes sure to have the courage to be open and express themselves.

Men are not robots. We feel the same emotions that women do. The majority of men just choose not to show it.

A man who is unable to show his true emotions is a struggling man. Keeping all of the pain, concerns, and worries trapped inside never ends well.

When I used to put up a facade portraying that I had my entire life together when things felt like they were falling apart was damaging for me. Ever since I saw the benefits of opening up and crying in front of someone or sharing personal self-doubts, I’ve been able to come to terms with my emotions.

Once a man’s emotions are in tune, the bad feelings are no longer a distraction, and a man can achieve his full potential.

“The Male has paid a heavy price of his masculine privilege and power. He is out of touch with his emotions and his body. He is playing by the rules of the male game plan and lemming-like purpose he is destorying himself emotionally, psychologically and physically.”

— Herb Goldberg

A Man Reciprocates

If someone does something nice for you and actually puts the thought into showing you they love you, you should want to reciprocate.

Many men believe that they are entitled to the best treatment possible — and I think this has to do with the traditional ways a hundred years ago when they were superior, and everyone needed to look up to them like a king.

Whenever my girlfriend surprises me with my favorite Arizona Iced Teas or calls me to tell me how much she loves me, my mood shoots up exponentially.

I love her too, and I show her that by doing the same things and then some.

When people meet a man who doesn’t take them for granted and shows his appreciation, it doesn’t go unnoticed. It’s rare to meet a man who puts his relationships and friendships seriously. A real man keeps his word.

I’m not saying that a man needs to reciprocate 100% of the time because that’s not entirely possible. Reciprocity takes effort, and if the man genuinely cares about the people he spends his time with, he will show it.

It takes work to keep everyone you care about happy. But by showing that you appreciate someone and the time that they spend with you will go a long way.

“Life is a reciprocal change. To move forward, you have to give back. “

— Oprah Winfrey

A Real Man Strives to Give Value

According to many people I’ve spoken to, one of the most attractive traits that men have is that he strives to give value and be successful.

It’s reassuring when someone notices a man who is so determined to achieve his goals and improve his life.

Motivation is something you can’t teach a man. He either has it, or he doesn’t. The men who haven’t found a significant other lack the motivation to get what they want.

When someone sees that spark inside of you that you want more out of life and will do whatever it takes to get it, they instantly have your respect and admiration. They know that this man is on a journey to do some really incredible things in life, and they want to be along for the ride.

“Try not too be a man of success. Rather become a man of value.“

— Albert Einstein

The Endgame of Being a Man

There are so many different aspects that go into being a real man. The major points that I believe bring out the best in a man are:

  • A man that is in touch with his emotions
  • A man who reciprocates
  • A man who strives to give value

If you or someone you know isn’t happy with the way his life is going, help him understand these three factors. They will change his life as long as he shows attention to them because without them, he’ll live life wondering why people aren’t noticing him.

A man must trust the process. Life is a journey, and we’re all figuring it out. He must sit down and look at his strengths and weaknesses to realize how to level up.

A real man has the strength of character to be his own man in the world and to always be true to himself.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Jordan Mendiola

Jordan Mendiola is a horizontal construction engineer in the U.S. Army, Mendiola loves hands-on projects and writing inspirational blog posts about health, fitness, life, and investing.

linktr.ee/Jordanmendiola

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.