Motivation logo

What Do I Feel I Am Meant To Do In This Life?

Hard Truths We Need To Tell Ourselves

By Johnny NezhaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read

In my last article I talked about what we feel we are meant to “be” in this life. But in this one, I will be discussing, what are we meant to “do”. What is the difference you might ask? Well, “being” is more of a purpose, it is idealistic, it is bigger picture, it is the top of a mountain, but it does not include all the narrow aspects of life. Such as courses of action, proactivity, plans, daily goals, weekly goals, monthly goals and yearly goals. It sounds like a lot doesn’t it. That’s because it is. Good things do not come to those who wait. I’ve said this before. I am saying this again. I’ll say it again until infinity. A little bit of irruence is indeed needed. So how are “being” and “doing” intertwined, and why both of them have a sense of destiny?

While your life purpose espouses destiny in its entirety, the actions of you to take to get there remain likely the same, except for “era” related issues, that being, the fact that we live in 2021 right now, has enabled us with better tools and technology to achieve our goals optimally. But at the core, everything remains ceteris paribus.

Time management and personal organization is key to any successful venture. The irony of that is, that you do wanna have a schedule, yet not be uptight about it and be flexible. Like a sandcastle. You build it with a lot of effort, but you gotta be ready for the waves that might take it down because that’s what outside sources and influences do, and because we have no agency whatsoever of the outside, we can only adapt , muddle with what is being given to us, even if that means no tools, few tools, wrong tools, and anything else you might have in mind, add that too. We live in a very loud world with many, many distractions. I wish somebody had told me these truths when I was younger, but on the other hand, I was a spoiled brat with his head in the sky busy being a professional daydreamer, thus I highly doubt I listened to even the lessons I was told anyway. I was everything I loathe and hate right now. My antithesis is my former self.

This should not be the case with you, though. Save yourself some hurdles, and save yourself unnecessary pain. There’s an abundance of that anyway. Spare some breaks to your mental health. Little mistakes might not account to much as of right now, but trust me, they do add up, and you’ll find yourself drowning in a sea that you and you alone made for yourself. How to avoid this?

You first need to abjure with yourself that you will stop being naïve, procrastinate, daydream, and if worse, expecting that tomorrow will be better. It won’t. Tomorrow can be better. Just not if you sit on your ass all day. That’s not how the rules of this universe conspire for us. Cause and effect it’s really all that there is. No work? No results! Period.

I am going to briefly show you what I do to stay on top of my projects, hopefully this inspires you to do as well. It doesn’t have to be on the same lines as mine, use whatever method you need to, as long as at the end of the day, you get them done. And if you are not being productive, then change system or work even harder to complete your goals under your current one you’ve chosen for thyself. Sounds simple in words, but harder in practice. Another law of this mere existence of ours here in this realm.

I personally use an app called “Todoist” in which I religiously write my goals for today, tomorrow, and the week. My methodology on this is a rough draft of a “to do” list. For example, today some of my goals were “writing this article, making TikToks for work, and contact LA City Parking to appeal a ticket”

Then I have my google calendar, which is updated every Sunday, with a very thorough schedule of the upcoming week up to the next Sunday. That is right, I allow for no leeway for things outside of the list if they are not work related. This means social outings, and superfluous activities NEED TO GET IN LINE AHEAD OF TIME, NO EXCEPTIONS. Then, last but not least, and this is a very controversial one, I use a 5 minute time block, idea inspired by the great Elon Musk, in which I have dissected activities into smaller chunks, and I detail them by even smaller actions (of 5 minutes). For example. If I have to make my monthly financial analysis, in the weekly schedule I would have just written “do monthly financial analysis”, but in the 5-minute time block schedule, I will write down, check credit scores with all 3 bureaus, check chase bank checking account and savings account and make an estimate of where my money goes down to the last cent. Complete excel financial sheet for the month of March 2021 etc etc.

Believe or not, I do have an affinity with my to do list and chores and it does make me feel so much more productive at the end of the day, I kinda feel like it is part of my destiny if I want to be what I said I want to become. Doing these daily transactions is the single most instrumental thing to achieve what you most want. Life is not a game, and things take time, but it has rules in the likes of a game. Make what you want of this article, and I hope you choose to make the most of this. Stop sipping on that latte and get to work already!

goals

About the Creator

Johnny Nezha

ENTJ-A. Founder & CEO At Khleon. I question everything. I’m driven by intense purpose; aiming for the pinnacle in the pursuit of self-actualization. I analyze for a living. Dismantling illusions since 1994.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Johnny NezhaWritten by Johnny Nezha

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.