Motivation logo

Toastmasters Table Topics #8 - If you can have dinner with a celebrity, who will it be and why?

Let's practice impromptu speech delivery.

By tarun bhattPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
Like
Toastmasters Table Topics #8 - If you can have dinner with a celebrity, who will it be and why?
Photo by Marcos Luiz Photograph on Unsplash

I have written about the significance of public speaking in the past. I started this writing series on table topics some months back. Before we dive into today's topic, below is a quick introduction to Table Topics

What are Table Topics?

In Toastmasters, "Table Topics" is a segment where participants deliver an impromptu speech. The speech should not be less than half a minute or more than two and a half minutes. Table Topics aims to encourage speakers to seize opportunities with promptness. Speakers learn to provide coherent and concise content without prior preparation. It's a valuable exercise for developing spontaneous speaking skills. Something very useful in formal presentations and everyday conversations.

The topic for today's article is:

If you can have dinner with a celebrity, who will it be and why?

One of my favorite questions. We all have fans we follow and have our reasons for it. They could be sports stars, actors, speakers, politicians, or celebrities. The key to success will be to stay true to our personalities. An attempt to fabricate something special could be disastrous.

My Ritual

I follow a ritual for every speech. The routine helps me to compose myself. It gives me a sense of satisfaction that things are in control.

A confident stride to the podium is the easiest way to kickstart the ritual. The next step would be to thank the table topic master and give a firm handshake. Repeating the question will buy me some thinking time.

I ensure that the podium is not standing in the way between me and the audience. It also gives me an excellent opportunity to take a deep breath and shrug off any anxiety. I prefer not to look at my feet while thinking, and my hands should not be in my pocket. It demonstrates an anxious personality.

Speech Delivery

My speech goes as follows:

Resilience is an exciting word. How can two people with the same challenges and opportunities end up at the opposite end of the spectrum? Well, luck does have a role, but the power of resilience goes beyond the miracles luck creates.

We have many examples of fighters who made a name for themselves against all odds. At the same time, many give up on life and surround themselves with drugs and other addictions. Isn't resilience the only difference between these two sets of people? The answer may not be that straightforward, but my decision is. I am resilient in my choice for the personality, I like to have dinner with.

He is a motivational speaker with no arms or legs. He plays golf, can swim, and ski. He does not wear prosthetics but can write as fast as any human being. Let me introduce you to Nick Vijucic.

My choice was not due to his distinct life situation. Rather it is due to his excellent public speaking skills. I love how he connects with his audience. There is self-deprecating humor but without demeaning himself.

He does not play the victim card but ensures he leaves his room full of energy.

Miracles happen, and I do believe in them. How can I stop without visualizing three questions I would love to ask during dinner:

  1. How did his parents motivate him during times of extreme lows?
  2. What was the role of his siblings in his life and journey
  3. How did he make his decision to marry Kanae , given his unique life situation

Thank you.

Conclusion

I try to be as spontaneous as possible when I write articles on table topics. It means I will elaborate on the first idea which comes into my head. The first idea may not be the best answer. Writing the first answer helps me to simulate a live environment.

I am writing these stories on table topics to create a collection for competitions. It is tough to think on the spot. A compilation like this sounds like an excellent way to practice. Hence, this is my way of visualizing robust and impactful content. Recording these speeches is a part of my routine. It gives me invaluable input to work and improve. THANKS FOR READING THIS PIECE. Positive feedback will help growth.

See below links to other articles from this series on table topics:

successself helphow togoalsadvice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.