Motivation logo

TO DREAM, TO DREAM, TO DREAM!

Of a solution to such major problems.

By Greer CollinsPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
TO DREAM, TO DREAM, TO DREAM!
Photo by 愚木混株 cdd20 on Unsplash

As I sit here reflecting over the past five years of my life. I cannot help but worry about my six sons and only daughters' future. Our world seems to have more problems than solutions.

Like the Covid-19 pandemic, where so many people continue to lose their loved ones. Or the fact that there are not enough beds in a hospital to treat all the patients. Then there's the problem of not having enough young people choosing to go into the nursing field or enough instructors and academies to educate all the needed nurses.

by Mufid on unsplashed

It pains me to have lost trust in police officers and the judicial system. It saddens me to have seen the destruction of national monuments, memorials, statues, and historical markers destroyed on the news. I cannot even imagine what solution could remedy these problems.

Living when unnecessary wars cost innocent soldiers lives or mental health. Knowing that so many homeless people live under freeways and on bus stop benches. Facing those homeless individuals as they walk up to my car late at night in a grocery store parking lot, or gas station begging for money and not having any on me because I need help also.

unsplashed

The problem of having the cost of living so high and the amount employers are willing to pay so low. This problem has a devastating effect on our children, ready to live their adult lives. The screening process alone makes it difficult for our children to move into a safe environment. They will need to work for at least two years and earn three times the amount of the rent. That is why my oldest children, who earn $15-20.00 an hour working over forty hours per week live in a crime-riddled neighborhood. The area has drug dealers and drug addicts. Helicopters flying at night looking for criminals. Yellow tape with black writing on it at a different corner store each day. They Hear gunfire at midnight every other day, not just New Year's Eve. All the events that are transpiring in our world currently, and those over the last five years, are destroying our world.

Unsplashed

Why do we live in such an angry, pre judgemental world, with individuals who only care about themselves and what they can attain?

I have a dream that one day we can all help each other. I have a dream that we can live in a world where we do not have to worry about our children's futures financially, mentally, or emotionally. I have a dream that we can all be part of the solution and no longer the problem. I have a dream that one day we will not need a welfare system, prescription drugs, mental health facilities, jails, or prisons because we will be able to solve our problems through love and kindness.

I plan to start with myself and my children.

My dream is to solve as many of these problems as I can. I plan to use sincerity and a genuine concern for others to get the right individuals to team up with me and make change happen. I will use a twelve-step program that I created. I got the idea from reading about how alcoholics and overeaters anonymous uses a twelve-step program. Their program steps have an individual admitting that they have a problem, realizing that they need help from a higher power, and learning how to take responsibility for their actions. All while receiving support from others who understand what they are going through. They have a pretty good success rate.

I also researched a few programs for accomplishing goals to help me with mine. The steps that resonated with me the most were:

Ditching negativity

Keeping focused

Believing in yourself

Networking by building relationships with people who are passionate and full of purpose.

Being consistent.

Treating failure as part of the process.

Remember why you are involved in this program.

I was inspired by these programs and the many motivational speakers I listened to on Youtube. Les Brown, Tony Robbins, Iyanla Vanzant, Louis Hay, and Lisa Nichols. From them, I learned how to get over the past and control my emotions so I can help others. I also learned the importance of empowerment and how it does not make you weak, or take away from you. Empowerment especially teaching others enables them to take care of themselves and appreciate you. Which grows respect instead of enemies. I will use social media to share my twelve-step program with the world. It is based on a simple concept taught to us as children when you give you get. Nothing beats the gift of love, kindness, and support that can solve problems.

goals
1

About the Creator

Greer Collins

Newbie to writing, yet enjoying every minute of it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.