Motivation logo

Creating Some Joy

It's an awesome feeling to make your own vision a reality.

By Greer CollinsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Picture of my vision board taken by me.

If you would have asked me around this time last year what brings me joy? I honestly would not have been able to answer that question. I just recently figured out what makes me happy, and what devastates me.

the reason why is actually quite pitiful. I was the type of person who lived my life taking care of others and worrying about making those around me happy. In other words a real people pleaser. Rather it was my seven children or my family members I would try my best to make them happy. However, since I got a divorce and my children are living with their father. I have been spending more time alone than I ever have in my whole life. So much so that I have been faced with the task of keeping myself occupied. I was used to keeping children occupied through creative activities that came so naturally to me. For example making games to teach them, having coloring contests, and cooking competitions.

One day after watching some youtube videos I discovered a new activity. This new activity was called a vision board. To my surprise not only was it fun but it solved a problem I was facing. You see, to make a vision board a person does not only need a poster board, some scissors, a marker, either a magazine to cut out or stickers, but they need to know what they want out of life. Hince the name "Vision Board", the whole point in making a vision board is to visualize every day what your goals are so you can stay focused on achieving them. I realized after making my first vision board that this concept actually worked for me. I accomplished every goal on my first board and continued to make new boards as my goals became clear to me. I learned to love the whole process.

Recently I found out that life coaches use this project to make money by holding vision board workshops. At a vision board workshop couples can rent a hotel room then each day they meet in a specific location such as the hotel's conference room, or a nearby library. The couples go through the process of creating a vision board together to see if they are compatible. Do they have the same goals and beliefs in their lives? Do they find themselves clashing and unable to make plans together because they have too many different perspectives? These workshops can be just one night and two days. They can also be as long as three nights and four days. With activities for the couples to complete each day together. I would love to be a life coach and hold a vision board workshop in every state that I travel to. I could actually see myself being really happy making money helping people learn more about themselves and what they are passionate about. The whole process is very therapeutic and enlightening.

I personally have found that I love writing, traveling, taking pictures, designing products to sell online, and visiting my family.

Picture of the writing and cutting process by me.

I create my vision board by cutting out the goals I wrote on paper using a marker. Then getting my blank poster board I start placing the pieces of papers randomly all over the board. Next, I place stickers all over the board until I like what I am looking at and can see my vision clearly. Then I place it on the wall and start working to achieve each and every goal I placed on my board. It makes me so happy when I complete the whole board and get the opportunity to make a new one.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Greer Collins

Newbie to writing, yet enjoying every minute of it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.