Motivation logo

Threading The Needle Challenge

My Escapes

By John Matthews Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Threading the Needle Challenge

“My Escapes”

By John Matthews

After a long hard day at work which wears me out mentally dealing with DHS cases, I need to relax and unwind and clear my mind. I like to put myself in another place and escape to another world in my mind. A place that takes me away from the stressful world and busy society. This place is my quiet place to release my thoughts and anxiety contributed from people at work, family, friends, or anyone.

I been a musician for about 20 years now. There is nothing like feeling of picking up my guitar and playing the strings with my fingers hitting the notes and causing a chord to play. Putting a series of chords together to play a favorite song. Depending on my mood I may strum softly in happiness or hardly with anger. The feelings that have changes as the strum those strings. Sometimes, I may play a favorite cover such as “Folsom Prison” or “Kryptonite”. Maybe, an Original “Back in Philly” or “Can’t You See”. I have written over 100 originals and keep writing. Whatever it is I play just takes me away from it all.

Sometimes, I sing along as I strum my guitar to my favorite song. I have many favorite songs from Rock to Pop, Folk, Upbeat Country, and Christian Music. I enjoy singing and playing guitar. I love to especially perform out at venues and private parties. It is fun getting to see others enjoy themselves while listening to me playing my music.

I also enjoy playing my keyboard. I am just learning some chords and trying to master Linus & Lucy song by Vince Guaraldi. I am a huge Peanuts fan and love Snoopy. He is my favorite character next to Charlie Brown. I have all the DVD’s and thousands of stuffed Snoopy animals.

I also write my own songs, poetry, and short stories. This takes my imagination into another world through poetic rhyme schemes, or songs that I write almost all the time. I have tons of poems and hope to create a poetry book one day. I enjoy writing fictional stories because I get to create the characters and give them names and history. I can take these characters and create an imaginary world and story for them.

Ironically, as I create fictional stories, I love to read non-fiction. I enjoy educating myself and developing new knowledge on different topics. I am currently reading “How to Make it in the Music Business” by Ari Herstand. Next on my list is “Writing Better Lyrics” by Pat Patterson. I like to educate myself in my free time to learn as much as I can about my interests. It keeps my mind open and free from the distractions of the life and its challenges. It is another escape for me.

I discovered new talents and now am taking acting lessons and involved with Musical Theatre. I performed in “Joseph and the Technicolor Dream Coat” back in 2019 and was supposed to perform in “Beauty and the Beast” until the world shutdown. Hopefully, I will have the opportunity to do it. I look forward to getting back on stage in my next role. Acting puts me in the role of someone else and takes me away from all my worries, problems, stresses, and allows me to be someone else temporarily. It is a joy that I dearly love doing.

Another way I clear my head and keep my health in check is by going to the gym. I go to the gym at least three times a week. It keeps me physically and mentally in shape for my job and the obstacles that life throws at me. The weight lifting and strength training grows my mind and muscle getting me stronger each day to face the world challenges.

After a long day of be mentally drained I have many escapes. These escapes are playing my guitar, singing, writing poems, short stories, songs, playing keyboard, going to the gym, and acting. I believe without these escapes I wouldn’t be the person I am today. It is what aspires me to keep peace in an insane world with Political Issues, Viruses, Violence, Hatred, and Racism. A place of peace and comfort that keeps me moving forward threading the needle of life until the thread runs out.

happiness
1

About the Creator

John Matthews

I am a Singer, Songwriter, Musician, Writer, and Actor. I have recorded to CD's back 2004 and 2006. I also recently released two singles last year and currently working on an EP. I enjoying excercising, reading, writing stories & poems.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.