Motivation logo

This is Why You Keep Procrastinating

Why do I keep procrastinating even though I know that it’s bad for me?

By Carlos VelascoPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by cottonbro from Pexels

Procrastination is a complex topic. And that’s very true for the people who have it and want to get rid of it. Every single one of us has dealt with procrastination at some point in our lives, and it’s very frustrating when you break out of your ‘procrastinating cycle’ and realize how much time you’ve wasted checking your friends’ stories on Instagram or watching Tik Tok videos.

The beginning of the procrastination process it’s very simple, and identifying these patterns is the first step that is going to help your self-control to overcome procrastination:

1. You have a very important task to do. Your self-control and motivation are going to help you energetically to do this work.

2. Demotivating factors appear, such as fear of failure, anxiety, the outcomes seem too far in the future, etc. These factors will subtract energy from your motivation.

3. These demotivating factors are greater energetically from your motivation and self-control, so your body tells you that is best to grab your phone and tweet why you seem to never get things done.

But why do I always get to the conclusion of avoiding my responsibilities?

The answer is simple: because our motivation believes is not being rewarded enough by doing the task.

We live in a society (don’t get me started with the Joker puns) that we are being rewarded constantly by social media or any other entertainment media. It’s just so easy as opening your Tik Tok or turning the TV on to obtain unlimited amounts of dopamine, that is the chemical that our motivation sees as a reward.

So, our body is presented with two options here: a satisfying feeling by finishing that important piece for your work, or receiving loads of dopamine right at that exact moment. And because our self-control and willpower are affected by other factors (such as exhaustion, lack of energy, instant sensation seeking), that our decision is going to favor the side that’s easier and immediate.

I procrastinate sometimes, hell, a few minutes ago I was deciding if start writing this article right now or tomorrow, just because I was thinking “Oh, I’ll do it when I know how to start”. But analyzing that thought right now, it doesn’t make sense, since I will be able to have a great article, even though I don’t know how to begin writing it. It’s just a few seconds of determination that help me to be able to write these lines right now.

So… what can I do to ‘fight’ procrastination?

Never rely on motivation, since motivation is a thing that doesn’t stay with you ever. Discipline is going to get you to do the work.

Okay, you surely heard that a thousand times before, but it’s not that easy to just become disciplined in a blink of an eye. Although I believe that, yes, you should be disciplined for you to get your responsibilities done, first you have to find something else that is not discipline, is your reason of why doing what you say yourself you need to do.

What is the thing that makes you feel good about yourself? Then, how can you apply it to your tasks?

In my case, I feel good about myself when I help people and I make them see a subject from different angles that can change their perspective into one that is perhaps more positive. Through writing, I believe that I can do that. So, every time I sit down and try to think about something to write, I ask myself “In what way can I help the reader with my story?” “What subject do I want to tackle and how can I present it helpfully?” These are the questions that help me stop wanting to write for later, and instead get my ass on my chair, investigate the subject and start typing.

Of course, this only applies in my particular case of writing articles. For other activities in my life, I have other reasons to do things: because I want to be healthier, because I want to expand my knowledge, because I want to see my room clean, etc.

But the point I’m making here is that YOU should find your why. Use my examples and ask yourself the questions that I mentioned before, and I assure if you implement this in your life, you will have an easier time dealing with procrastination.

So tell me, what is your reason?

self help
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.