Motivation logo

The Truth About Not Being Good Enough

Listen to this very carefully

By Carlos VelascoPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Photo by Bich Tran from Pexels

A month ago this happened to me and it affected me very severely.

I was just commencing my writing journey, about to write my first article, when I saw on my recommended page a title something along the lines of “How My First Story Became Viral”.

And when I saw that I got super excited because I believed that it was this easy to gain success on this platform.

The reality was far from the truth.

Days went on and on, I kept striving to write articles that were appealing to me, and when I saw the views/reads that I had I was left ashamed of myself.

Is it because I am not good enough?

The answer to that is: ABSOLUTELY NOT.

I was only not good enough because I believed it

The reality is that nothing from the exterior can determine my value.

And the same goes for you. If your value is based on how good you are doing at your job, or how are your monthly stats, or how much money do you make, you’ll have periods of your life that you’ll be the ruler of the world and other times you’ll be worthless than a dime.

What I learned is to not attach yourself to the things that are exterior to you.

That will only cause pain in the long run, because of the instability that tends to have the external things.

Focus on the interior, of what truly makes your heart raise. Get to know your true intentions about doing things, if they are in the right place, you are in the correct spot.

Comparison is such bullshit

Probably the biggest waste of time in human history is comparing yourself to others.

Do you know why is so harmful? Because is so easy to do it. You can even think of any person that crosses your mind and you’ll quickly find something that they are better at than you.

Comparing yourself to others is so useless. It wastes your time and your energy, the 2 most important things that you have. You gain nothing from doing that, you’ll only decrement the self-esteem that you’ve hardly started to build.

The key thing to understand things is that everyone has their own path, and each path is different and very unique from one another.

The reality that we have is the life that we have, not the one that we are comparing to. You have such beautiful qualities that are not being seen because of what comparison does to you.

When you stop comparing yourself to others, you are telling to yourself that you are okay with who you are, and that’s the ultimate sign of accepting yourself as a whole.

At the end of it all, you just need to not give a fuck

Stop giving a fuck about what others think of you.

That comes in hand with what I talked about in the past point of accepting yourself. When you accept yourself you are OK with how you are as an individual. You don’t need anyone to give you their validation because you already have achieved the most powerful thing of them all: your own validation.

Your own validation will give you that freedom you have been looking for everywhere when in reality was within you all this time.

Most of the things you are looking for in the world, are already inside of you.

Don’t ever forget that.

I actually touched on this topic of not caring about others' opinions in one of my earliest articles, you should check it out:

Final thoughts

The reality of all of this is that you are great and complete just as you are now.

I know it because you have reached the end of this article, and that tells me that you are very intrigued by how comparison is pretty bad for your life, meaning that you want to make a change within yourself, and the people who are in the journey of that are deserving of the best things in life.

Just remember, that if you stop comparing yourself to others, you will have gain what most people in this world don’t have: your own liberty.

I hope you learned something new today or just helped you to see a different perspective on life.

Thank you for reading this, I appreciate you a lot and I would love to read your thoughts on this in the comments.

Make sure you read my other stories in my profile and share them with others, it might help them too:)

We’ll see each other in the next post! Until then, thanks for reading.

self help
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.