Motivation logo

There is a kind of happiness called contentment

There is a kind of happiness called contentment

By Radika RadhikaPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

What is happiness? Different people have different interpretations. For farmers, a good harvest is happiness; For the rich, having a healthy body is happiness; Hunger, food and clothing are happiness; Peace is happiness after war. A person listening to music and enjoying solitude alone is not a simple and ordinary happiness. Happiness does not depend on the power of deterrence, extraordinary wealth or superhuman talent. It depends on a realm of indifference to fame and wealth.

I once asked a friend, "are you happy?" He replied: "not happy, because my material conditions are not rich, there is still a long way to go from my goal, and I will continue to work hard!" This sentence shows that my friend is not happy yet. In life, most people tend to have longwangshu. Once the original things are satisfied, they look forward to higher and more things. Therefore, there are not many people who really have a sense of happiness in this world. Many people say that one day when there is something, it will be a happy life. We are constantly struggling to pursue happiness and get rid of pain, but another pain is waiting for us, because our desire will never be satisfied. Ugly has ugly sadness, beautiful has beautiful worry; When there is no money, there is trouble when there is no money, and when there is money, there is sorrow when there is money; When you are poor, you want to eat some vegetables. When you eat too much chicken, duck and fish, you are afraid of "three highs" and want to try melons, fruits and vegetables; Everyone crowded into the city. After staying in the metropolis for a long time, they felt bored and wanted to enjoy the pastoral scenery.

One day in a certain month, on the beach, a rich man saw a fisherman lying in the sun. He scolded him and said, "in a good time, why don't you go fishing?" The fisherman asked, "why do you shoot so many fish?" The rich man said, "change money!" The fisherman asked, "why do you want so much money?" The rich man said, "with money, you can be like me, free and happy, and can lie leisurely on this beautiful beach and bask in the sun." The fisherman said, "aren't I lying happily on the beach in the sun now?" In fact, happiness is so simple. It is not pursued, but already exists around us, waiting for us to enjoy.

Once people's basic survival needs such as food, clothing, housing and transportation are met, the increase of wealth no longer has a positive significance to happiness itself, but has a decreasing effect on happiness. With more wealth, they are afraid of thieves' patronage. They try their best to strengthen security measures such as anti-theft doors and anti-theft nets. When they go out of the door, they are afraid of robbery and car accidents. They live in fear all day; Of course, I'm happy to be promoted. After a few days, I'm afraid that my subordinates are not obedient, and even more afraid that the leaders are not satisfied with their work. I'm a man with my tail clamped all day. In fact, in order to obtain more wealth and power, people are more busy all day, busier and more stressful than before. For them, happiness lies in the future. If we can't feel today's happiness, why can we get tomorrow's happiness?

In the afterglow of the sunset, a pair of ragged men and women came, but there was no trace of sadness in their eyes. Men push an old car full of waste goods, which may be their harvest of the day; The woman carries a blanket and walks in front of the man; I sighed with emotion: they are really unhappy and how failed they are! I can't help but feel pity for them, and even think of the sentence: "if a young man doesn't work hard, an old man is sad". As they walked, the woman suddenly found half an apple lying on the ground. The woman carefully picked it up and wiped it on her old clothes. The woman tasted it first and looked at the woman's expression: it's so sweet! Then, the woman handed the apple to the man's mouth. The man took a bite and hummed the song: "sister, you sit in the bow of the boat, brother walks on the shore, grace and love, and the rope swings long..." the afterglow of the sunset reddened his face and glowed red in the black. While singing, the man tasted the apple handed by the woman and looked at his woman with a smile from time to time. I was moved. No matter what, I'm sure they must be happy at this moment.

In fact, many times, our happiness is not for our own feelings, but for the vision of others to plan our own life. How important other people's eyes are to us. If our power, wealth and talents are not affirmed by others, then we will not be happy again, and we will not be happy again. At work, if a colleague said that I was "young" due to the change of my hair style or clothes today, when I returned to my seat, I would look at myself in the mirror and admire myself. I was so happy that I might hum a minor

In fact, happiness is a kind of feeling. I think I am happy and I am happy. On this premise, I design my happy life. I want to give a minimum bottom line to happiness first, that is, living. Life is the basis for me to enjoy happiness, so I must cherish life first. I will resolutely not make fun of life and do anything that undermines the dignity of life. If I live healthily, I will be happier, If I have a family, people who care about me and a little wealth, I will be very happy. If I can engage in the work I love, maintain my interests and have friends who are interlinked, I will be the happiest person

Clean clothes, delicious meals, clean home, kind parents, virtuous wives and filial children are men's happiness. Warm residence, solid support, caring eyes, considerate greetings, careful care and striving children are women's happiness. In the final analysis, we are moved by small details, really small, really small. Having a contented heart and taking good care of your family is happiness. Holding an indifferent heart and living a warm and peaceful life through the ups and downs is happiness. Holding a peaceful heart and living every day of your life is happiness

Happiness is everywhere in the world. It depends on how we feel and experience it. Contentment is the so-called happiness.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.