Motivation logo

The Whole Truth: Lions, and Tigers and Bears, Oh My

An exploration of courage

By Scott StewartPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Whole Truth: Lions, and Tigers and Bears, Oh My
Photo by julio andres rosario ortiz on Unsplash

This is my third entry in this subject area, exploring the wisdom and experience I have gained through confronting and accepting the truth about the world, and myself.

Although I have not rewatched the classic version of the Wizard of Oz in a number of years, I have seen it enough times during the course of my life for it to have made an impact in my character. While the story centres around the journey of Dorothy and her need to get back home, I find that through my life I have more often related to her companions, being the Lion, the Scarecrow, and the Tin Man. In particular, the Lion is the character who most often reflects where I find myself in situations and events in life.

Allow me to expand on that thought. So pulling out a few highlights from my Curriculum vitae, I am educated with a Bachelor's degree, I have worked through a number of jobs steadily since the age of 13, I have completed a number of courses related both to my field of work and soft skills, and finally, I have a few talents like my ability to write that have been with me throughout my life. In short, I have competencies and abilities to do a number of things.

Yet, in spite of my training, practice, and experience, I often feel like a fraud and incapable of performing the task in front of me. It is hardly uncommon for me to be in a situation, such as presenting to a small or large group of people in the workplace, where the internal dialogue running through my head is saying things like:

"You don't belong here"

"What makes you think you're qualified to speak to these people?"

"You're going to fail and make a fool of yourself"

"Why should these people listen to what you have to say"

Another aspect of that negative self-talk comes when I accomplish something, where it is quick to point out how I don't deserve this, that I am going to self-sabotage the next challenge I take on, or merely reminds me of all the times I have failed.

Back to the Lion. I used to hold on to the false belief that courage was reserved for the brave, for the hero doing heroic things like slaying the dragon. But I have learned that courage is much more than that, and I think this quote from Mary Anne Radmacher portrays it well, “Courage does not always roar. Sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, 'I will try again tomorrow.'"

The self-degrading narrative in my head is my biggest foe. That internal struggle to defend myself against its relentless attacks is the greatest display of courage that I have, which goes unnoticed by the rest of the world. It's me ignoring those anxieties and fears and pushing forward to do the things that need to be done. Because, like the gift the Lion received from the Wizard of Oz at the end of his journey, I already have accomplished the deeds worthy of the medals, even if I don't have a medal or other recognition of my efforts. And I don't need them either. I simply need to remember that still small voice inside which says "I am worthy. I can do great things. I matter." And that, dear friends, is the best form of courage to have.

Scott Stewart

January 22, 2022

goals
Like

About the Creator

Scott Stewart

I am an avid reader, with a passion for authors in the fantasy & sci-fi genres, but have read more widely. My writing has not been so constrained, and I hope that you, the reader, will get lost in the pieces I eventually share here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.