Motivation logo

The Silhouette

Behind the two way mirror

By Shan RossPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Gazing at the silhouette through the two way mirror. I mysteriously watch as the white light shimmers. A colorful being so mysterious and bright. Like a palette on an easel so vibrant in sight. The stain of the bright red splatter on a garment.

What is this color? Scarlett……Scarlett?

As scarlet as the blood of the marksmen who has just shot his target. This color describes me when I’m feeling broken hearted.

Gazing at the silhouette with a gleam in my eye. My face flowing with tears from what once was a stagnant cry. I contemplate on walking away and saying good bye, but suddenly the silhouette stares back and my face is now dry. The hue of this plant eats the Alaskan kodiak.

What is this color? Lilac…..Lilac?

As lilac as the petals of the delicate flower. This color represents me when I’m feeling empowered.

Gazing at the silhouette with a dream in my heart. I want to communicate with this strange figure, but I don’t know where to start. The dynamic of this entity resembles a form of art. This being looks perplexed as it gazes back with great remark. The shade is as of the leaves of the Appalachian spruce.

What is this color? Chartreuse…..Chartreuse?

As chartreuse as a leaflet blowing with the wind as it’s accomplice. This color represents me when I'm feeling accomplished.

Gazing at the silhouette with a worried glare. I can’t grasp the concept of its blank, empty stare. It walks closer to the glass I am now filed with despair . The shiver down my spine does not allow me to prepare. The tone of the sky amiss the flying jaeger.

What is this color? Azure …… Azure?

As azure as raindrops trickle down the window pane adjacent. This color represents me when I’m feeling frustration.

Gazing at the silhouette with an observant eye. It’s characteristics ethereal, intriguing and divine. It starts to move slowly with grace and sublime. It spoke to me and said I am your paradigm. The tint of the fruit that withstands the coldest climate.

What is this color? Persimmon….. Persimmon?

As persimmon as the yield hanging from the tree so tenacious. This color represents me when I am feeling complacent.

Gazing at the silhouette with a stubborn stare. What do you want? Why are you there? I can feel the hairs on the back of my neck begin to flare. I start to walk away then suddenly I’m impaired. The being walks up to the glass and we are both face to face. My skin turns cold to the touch as my heart begins to race. As cold as a cadaver sitting on the cold steel at the mortician. I try to move but I cannot as if I needed it’s permission. The colors sway and move about within this apparition. So beautiful and bright a very complex depiction.

Gazing at the silhouette I’m intrigued by this enigma. Is this serendipitous? or is this a dilemma? What is its purpose? Does it have an Agenda? Then, I look upon this presence and see the color sienna.

All of these colors begin to intertwine, and I begin to see a woman whose face resembles mine! The silhouette opens it’s arms wide as the barrier between us fades. My feelings represent my colors irrational and vague. The colors of my truth I no longer hide but I embrace. The colors consume me and I am now the person I once misplaced.

This silhouette was not distorted nor vile nor menacing. It was I that the two way mirror had been mimicking. So why hide behind what makes me “Me”?

Forevermore I will be as I am….I will be!

healing
Like

About the Creator

Shan Ross

Aspiring song and screenplay writer …. Poetry lover ✨

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.