Motivation logo

The Scramble for Simple Living

In an overstimulated world

By Unbreakable HeartPublished 2 days ago 3 min read
The Scramble for Simple Living
Photo by Michael Hamments on Unsplash

Have you sensed it too? There is increasing tension in the world around us.

The demand for simple living is ever on the rise. But simplicity is becoming scarcer by the day.

Simple living seems to be something of the past, something we lost along the way and that has a nostalgic ring to it.

Time in nature, candlelight, sipping tea in front of the fireplace while reading a good book – things that come to mind when imagining a simple life.

When I look at my life, it all sounds like a fantasy. Like some kind of parallel universe that exists out there.

My world is that of noisy traffic on a busy road, endless to-do lists, constant notifications from numerous social media platforms – overstimulated, in one word.

By Al Elmes on Unsplash

The whole world is moving and I’m standing still. – The Weepies

The constant activity makes it feel like time is just slipping through my fingers. I know what I truly want is a simple life but instead I’m trapped in the ever-spinning hamster wheel.

It’s what I see as “the scramble for simple living”: People worldwide trying to grasp a simple way of life as the world keeps spinning on.

Everything that I said I’d do

Like make the world brand new

And take the time for you

I just got lost and slept right through the dawn

And the world spins madly on

- The Weepies

But there must be a better way, right? We do have a choice, we always do.

No one is forcing us to scroll through infinite feeds and watch shorts and reels without end.

We can learn to say no and slow down, no longer flooding our to-do lists, as we don’t always need more.

It’s a matter of mindset.

All the problems are stuck between “mind” and “matter”. If you don’t “mind” it doesn’t “matter”. – Unknown

The other day I made up my mind: I’m done simply scrambling for life. I’m going to make a change.

Pause what you’re doing, take a deep breath, and slow down. Simply be in the moment and enjoy it.

Disconnect, close your eyes, and just be aware of your surroundings for a moment.

Practice gratitude, have an eye for the people around you, and try to connect with someone in real life.

Focus on what you have and be thankful for it – realise that all that can already make you happy right now.

Happiness is not about getting all you want, it is about enjoying all you have. – Unknown

Your simpler life can start today.

-----------------------------------------

Enjoyed that? I’d appreciate it a lot if you’d take a moment to give a heart for this story ;) I would also love to hear your thoughts on this topic in the comments! How do you feel about simple living?

As Unbreakable Heart, I tell personal stories about life experiences, emotions, feelings, and life in general. My aim is to share my thoughts on philosophical and psychological matters to inspire others. My aim was always to be unbreakable to protect my heart. Through opening up to others about my feelings and emotions, I want to allow myself to be more vulnerable. At the same time, I hope I can also offer encouragement to others to not be afraid to be seen and heard.

Feel free to contact me through my email if you are ever in need of a listening ear and a word of advice. Or simply send me a personal message on my X (formerly Twitter) account. I'm looking forward to getting to know you better :)

self helpsocial mediaquoteshappinessadvice

About the Creator

Unbreakable Heart

Words. Pen and paper - keys and fingers. Freely flowing, never-ending.

Words. Lips and air - voice and vibration. Never flowing, ever suspending.

Through my pen I tell. The paper carries my voice.

Soundless and unheard - untold stories unfold.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Esala Gunathilake2 days ago

    A nice reading that was.

  • Sweileh 8882 days ago

    Thank you for the interesting and delicious content. Follow my story now.

Unbreakable HeartWritten by Unbreakable Heart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.