Motivation logo

The Power of a Smile

#SMILE

By Eman HassanPublished about a year ago 3 min read

I was walking through a crowded street in the heart of the city when I saw her. She was sitting on a bench, surrounded by a group of people, but she looked alone. Her head was down, and she was staring at the ground. I could tell that she was upset.

I didn't know her, and I probably would have just walked by, but something inside me made me stop. I approached her and asked her if she was okay. She looked up at me, and I saw tears in her eyes.

She didn't say anything at first, but then she smiled. It was a small, hesitant smile, but it was enough to brighten up her face. She told me that she was going through a tough time and that she didn't know how to deal with it. I listened to her, and I offered her some words of comfort.

I didn't think much of it at the time. It was just a small moment, a chance encounter with a stranger. But that encounter ended up changing my life in ways that I could have never imagined.

That encounter made me realize the power of a smile. It made me realize that sometimes, all it takes is a small gesture of kindness to make a difference in someone's life. It made me realize that we all have the ability to make a positive impact on the world, even in the smallest of ways.

From that moment on, I made a conscious effort to be kind to everyone I met. I started smiling at strangers, saying hello to people on the street, and holding doors open for others. I didn't do it because I wanted recognition or because I thought it would make a difference. I did it because it felt good, and because I knew that even the smallest act of kindness could brighten someone's day.

As I started paying more attention to the people around me, I realized that there were a lot of people who were struggling. I saw people who were lonely, people who were dealing with loss, and people who were just having a bad day. And I realized that a smile or a kind word could make all the difference in the world.

My new perspective on life also led me to make some changes in my career. I had been working in a job that paid well, but it didn't fulfill me. I realized that I wanted to do something that made a difference in the world, something that would help others.

I started volunteering at a local community center, helping out with a program for at-risk youth. It was challenging, but it was also rewarding. I saw firsthand the impact that a kind word or a smile could have on these kids. I saw them open up and trust me, and I knew that I was making a difference in their lives.

Eventually, I quit my job and started working full-time at the community center. It wasn't an easy decision, but I knew that it was the right one. I was doing something that I loved, something that made a difference, and something that fulfilled me.

Looking back on that small moment, I realize that it was a turning point in my life. It was a moment that showed me the power of kindness, the importance of paying attention to the people around me, and the value of doing something that makes a difference in the world.

I now know that even the smallest of moments can have a big impact on our lives. And I'm grateful for that chance encounter with a stranger on a crowded street. It changed my life in ways that I could have never imagined.







advicehappiness

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    EHWritten by Eman Hassan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.