Motivation logo

The Perfect Day

We're All Looking Forward to Better Days

By Eloise GiesbrechtPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Perfect Day
Photo by Jude Beck on Unsplash

What is it that you look the most forward to doing after the quarantine is over? I look forward to spending time with friends and family in some of my favorite spots. Being a single person it's just been my housemate and I during this time of isolation.

I'd plan this day for the first Saturday when everything is back to "normal." It would be a beautiful sunny day.

In the morning I would go for a walking date through a beautiful local park. I wouldn't plan this terribly early, so that I could sleep in. I have a fond recollection of walking in this park with her by my side last summer. It would be lovely to reconnect with her. It is a very large park located right on the water. I'd be sure to go to a spot in the park that holds special memories for me. When I was a teenager, my Dad, my sister and I had a picnic in the arboretum that's attached to the park. Places like this bring me instantaneous peace. Another place I'd be sure to go to in the park has a dock by the water. It makes me feel as though I've stepped into the movie set of "A Walk To Remember." In the scene Jamie and Landon are walking along a boardwalk.

I have biological niece and nephews, but I also have a few I have "adopted" along the way. One of those is my best friend's son. She is like the little sister I never had. I consider her son to be one of my "nephews." He had a birthday during this time of isolation. The gift I gave him was a promise that I'd take him to eat at our favorite restaurant. They serve the best poutine that this city has to offer. I would arrange with my best friend to surprise her son with a lunch date. I can't even imagine how excited he would be to see me. I can almost feel his long arms wrapped around me in a long hug. At the restaurant we would order mozzarella sticks, bacon poutine, and butter tarts. Even though he's only twelve years old, on his dates with me he's a real gentleman. He opens car doors for me and is very polite. I hope he's just as thoughtful and sweet when he's dating his future wife.

I've really missed sitting in Starbucks and having coffee with friends. I'd plan a coffee date in the afternoon with my friend Liz. We've been wanting to go out for coffee ever since December. I'd do my best to get the comfortable chairs so we could be more relaxed. There's nothing like a nice hot latte, a cake pop, and laughter with a good friend.

I'd end the day with a family dinner at my Mom's house. There would be lots of hugs with everyone upon my arrival. Before the quarantine, I would see my local family members at least once a week. I've missed everyone desperately. We would have pancakes and sausage. Maple syrup from the sugar shack would be heated up on the stove with fresh fruit in it. That is the way my Dad used to always do the syrup. It would be a great way to remember him as he passed away seventeen years ago. When supper was over, we'd gather around the piano. My whole family is very musical. My niece and nephew would play their violin and guitar. My Mom would tickle the ivories. Everyone would take turns picking out songs for us to play and sing. I really can't think of a better ending to my perfect day.

When I retired for the night, there would be a smile on my face and love in my heart.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Eloise Giesbrecht

I'm a thirty nine year old who is passionate about music, living in the moment, and telling stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.