Motivation logo

The Pen Is Stronger Than The Sword

When the passion of creativity brought light into my life

By Olivia DellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
The Pen Is Stronger Than The Sword
Photo by 🇸🇮 Janko Ferlič on Unsplash

Creativity had always run deep in my family's veins. Whether it was music, art, or writing. In my case it was all three. But my first real passion started in writing. Among lyrics, and poetry, it was stories most of all. You see, my mother had always said I had a large imagination ever since I was a small child. And for a writer that was a gift I was grateful to have.

But I think most of all where it really came from was the ability to escape into the worlds I created that I produced out of mere pen and paper. You see, as I grew older from child to adult, the problems of my life grew bigger and I found the need to escape bigger as well in my times alone of peace and solitude during late nights when I found it hard to sleep, or early mornings when I had awoken before the rest of the world it seemed. That is when I turned to my writing that I found peace.

And from this peace I produced magical worlds of where good always conquered evil and love was the most powerful magic of all and where I myself was written as a warrior who traveled through lands from England in one story and then Egypt and Rome in the next in ancient times. And in each and every story there was always a happy ending. Because you see, in stories anything is possible. And when I needed to take a break from the occasional harsh realities of the real world my stories were always there waiting for me to be my saving grace and welcoming me with open arms.

And of course in the real world it is still filled with moments of happiness and beauty and when I felt most lost and hurt those moments reminded me that there is still good in the world that I can write about in my next adventures amongst the pages of my stories. And of course the countless books I read by fantastic authors were always there to inspire me when I felt the horrible but all too familiar feeling of “writer’s block”. And it was those talented authors who I honored and hoped that one day maybe if I’m lucky enough I could be at least half as talented as they are if I just kept writing and continue to grow my skill as a writer myself.

You see, writing saved my life, just as music did and art as well. With my writing I have seen it bring joy and emotions to people’s lives and for that I am grateful and proud of myself that I have been able to bring such positive effect into people’s hearts and minds from a collection of just a few simple words that I had somehow managed to gather together and twist into a collection of simple stories filled with hope and love and adventure. And I hope that I can continue to do so as time goes on.

For although the world may sometimes get cold and scary and life’s problems may sadden me. It will never stop me from continuing on with my passion, at least not completely and certainly not forever. Because like I mentioned before, life’s moments of beauty and happiness inspire me to keep going. And that positivity is what I need to focus on to find the strength to not give up on something I love so dearly. Which is to create and continue as I have for years passed and for many more years yet to come. And with that, to those who may be reading this, I hope you have enjoyed reading it just as much as I have enjoyed writing it.

End

happiness
1

About the Creator

Olivia Dell

Hello everyone! My name is Olivia but everyone calls me Bonez. I'm currently 24 years old and I live in Oklahoma but originally from Los Angeles. Writing is one of my biggest passions and I hope you enjoy my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.