Motivation logo

The Mental Health Fad

How I Am Learning to Accept Myself

By Grace Genet-AllenPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Mental Health Fad
Photo by Sydney Sims on Unsplash

Mental health has become a trend. We often see "aesthetically-pleasing" videos that tell us this is the new epitome of health. Being the so-called it girl, the one that has videos of work-outs, coffee, and avocado toast. The best version of yourself, relying on social media for income. I'm just not so sure this is really the end-all of mental health.

We seem to have made this picture of mental health, a filtered, soft white pillow of life. It leads us to dream about being that person, the person that has all of 5% of their life on social media, minus the real stuff that goes on. Granted, sometimes, if you are in the right mindset, you may find some inspiration in it. However, most of the time, I at least, find myself to be overwhelmed with the feeling of wanting this unobtainable perfection.

Even though we have heard many influencers come out and say that it just isn't real, we still hope for some smidge of their life. Even though their content is a very small portion of their lives, it still is hard to watch sometimes, or let's be honest, most of the time. Our views become so distorted, that when we find someone who is real, and doesn't have perfect handwriting, physical health, and hair, we criticize them in our minds.

How is it that this person is able to be completely confident in their imperfections, in the fact that they don't play into every trend. The reason we feel this way, is because even if we are trying to play perfect, or not, we're avoiding the idea that we can't be just like "that" person. We seem to feel like if we were authentic, we would not be accepted. But this just isn't true.

Humans in general are pack animals, we are influenced very easily by the everyday rhetoric of the people we follow on social media, friends we have in real life, and celebrities alike. I want to tear free of this. I want to be proud of the fact that I'm just not "that girl." That shouldn't be too much to ask, and yet it sounds so difficult to say that, in text, or out loud. I want so badly to not feel like I have to be something other than I am. Even if I act like myself, I feel bad for it, for not playing into the minds of others in this generation.

I want to become authentic, and not be afraid to grow. I'm starting with the little things. Everyone nowadays has to post when they are taking a break from social media, like even this has to be accepted by those who follow us. We need to learn to break free from the ties that bind us to being socially accepted.

For my first way of doing this, I am limiting myself, and my time on my phone. I want to cut back on how much I use my phone for unproductive reasons. There are hours of the day that I am losing, by using social media, and watching the latest episode of euphoria, just because everyone else is watching it. Granted, I have come to enjoy the plot at this point.

I am going to make myself a healthier person, and I will be documenting this journey. However, I am not a perfect person, and I will never claim to be so. For so long, I have added my worth up to be the number of likes on my photos, the comments from people that aren't just commenting because they know me, and story views and responses.

I am more than a number, and I can be my own type of woman, not just another it-girl.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Grace Genet-Allen

Just trying to figure out what I want in life one day at a time. I read quite a bit and share my thoughts here, along with the occasional poem or life post.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.