Motivation logo

The Journey of a Challenge

And the Rationale for One

By EyekayPublished 2 months ago Updated 23 days ago 3 min read
3

I joined an online five-day bookmaking challenge. I love paper and have several beautiful selections. However, I like to create my own art. For this, I collected all ugly gel print scraps, ripped the nice parts, dug into my recycling bin, got some used teabags, lace, scrap fabric, words from magazines, color copies of experimental doodles, tissue, watercolor, and copier papers. I collaged it at all to 300 GSM watercolor paper. Amidst this chaos, I brought out metallic watercolor paint and left over coffee to drink, splatter, splotch, and spill with intention.

When the cover was out of the way, the real work began. I created the spine and signatures, the binding holes and began sewing. Between the zigzag stitches, I lost and retracked, adapted and adjusted, squinted and focused, tangled and untangled,  pricked and jabbed, swore like a sailor and tested my endurance several times. I truly feel I must lose myself several times just to rediscover the path. I practiced the power of patience repeatedly through this exercise. There were moments of frustration, confusion, and doing over. Never once did I feel like giving up. I persisted and voilà! My book baby was birthed on schedule.

The Spine, Front and Back of Book

The Signature Covers with Experimental Doodles

The result is totally worth it. I love the pages waiting to be filled with thoughts, dreams, and images. The book may not be as beautiful and artistic as the those of artist friends in the inspiration gallery. But it stands as testimony of my patience.

There is often the chatter of esthetics, artistry, technique in our heads. However, the biggest high for me came in the form of completion.

So, what can I discover with a challenge? 

Trying something new can tap out potential and bring forth learning opportunities. Apart from a skillset, there is also learning about the resilience and patience within to complete a challenge.

I love to push myself out of my comfort zone. This original analogy pops up in my head when I get too comfortable. Imagine being a bicycle rusting in the rain instead of one that can ride beautiful trails, enjoy wonderful vistas, and experience new places and spaces. Challenges bring forth effort and the joys of discovery.

When thoughts fly without clarity or focus, these challenges provide purpose and direction.  Taking on a small challenge and completing it makes me confident to tackle larger ones.

There is a sense of accomplishment when the sticky aspects of the challenge are solved, and the job is successfully completed. This feels like an exercise to persevere and overcome life’s adversities.

Most of all, I love challenges because there is an inbuilt association with humanity. These represent my passions, deepest desires, and dreams. I feel I can achieve when I dare to dream, learn from others, share my ideas and thoughts. I never compare my work, as there are amazing creators and artists out there. But there is only one me, and I have the joy of creating without judgment. Even if I fail the first attempts in the challenge, I know the next trial could be a lot smoother.

The frustrating part is getting stuck. I walk away knowing there is always a possibility of coming back to the unfinished one. Stepping back for a brief while brings new energy and a different perspective..

Of course, there are challenges one must release. Persevering is different from perseveration. If I cannot solve it, there is always some other challenge I can try. It is not giving up but letting go.

Looking back, a challenge gives me options to try something different within the challenge. Minimalism is hard for me, and I keep adding things to my book. My next challenge would be making the same structure with a minimal outlook.

A challenge is truly successful when there is a sadness after the joy in the completion. I often forget the frustration and somehow yearn for the high points.

self help
3

About the Creator

Eyekay

I write because I must. I believe each one of us has the ability to propel humanity forward.

And yes, especially in these moments, Schadenfreude must not rule the web.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Eyekay (Author)2 months ago

    Wow, Meera, What an in-depth analysis! Thank you for going through this piece. I feel happy to see your response to my analogy of the bike and my piece.

  • Meera Dimba2 months ago

    The narrative provided offers a personal and introspective account of the author’s experience with a four-day bookmaking challenge. The author’s passion for paper and art is evident, and their commitment to creating something unique from recycled materials is commendable. The detailed description of the process, from the initial gathering of materials to the final creation of the book, showcases a journey filled with both challenges and triumphs. The author’s reflection on the importance of patience, resilience, and the joy of completion is inspiring. It highlights the therapeutic and fulfilling nature of art and the creative process. The analogy of a bicycle rusting versus one exploring new trails effectively conveys the value of stepping out of one’s comfort zone and embracing challenges. Well written.

  • Akadambi Gmail2 months ago

    Superb! You are an amazing writer and creator 💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.