Motivation logo

The Birth of Bantu Village

How I started my natural & organic hair and skincare line

By Kiesha HaughtonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

The year 2020 started off with a bang and ended with a sonic boom, making it a year unlike any other ever in history. I quit my management job the last couple days of 2019, since I refused to start 2020 in the same toxic environment that plagued me all year under the organization’s new leadership. It wasn’t until I submitted my resignation that the true immensity of negative energy weighing me down and draining me physically, mentally, and spiritually, really hit home. I felt released. The danger of condoning and supporting terrible leaders is that you will lose your best and most dedicated workers. A quote that resonates with me and helped shape my decision to move on says, ‘learn to get up from the table when love is no longer being served.’

As I got up from the table, the dark cloud lifted, the creative juices began flowing, the drive to help others was renewed, and a new venture was birthed. I traveled to Dubai in January and returned just before the global shutdown began. I had already determined that I would no longer work as an employee for anyone other than myself, and the trip helped clear my mind and put into prospective opportunities I never before considered. In fact, upon my return during the quarantine, I was able to slowdown enough to shift my focus to things I previously hadn’t paid much attention to, like the hair and skincare products I regularly used.

Whether it was curiosity or pure boredom, I now had the time to begin focusing on the harmful ingredients found in almost all of my commercial haircare products. As someone always looking for the latest and best products, it was disappointing to find my loc’d hair often still felt dry, brittle, and damaged.

One day, I came across a website selling natural and organic bulk ingredients and had a strong impression that I should start making my own hair and skincare line. This immediately set in motion a journey of tremendous discovery. I conducted months of research, did trial and error testing, formed focus groups, and officially launched Bantu Village, LLC.

It was important for me to ensure all my ingredients were natural and organic, animal cruelty free, environmentally friendly, and socially & responsibly sourced and manufactured. My focus was to provide a healthier alternative to the harmful additives typically found in commercial hair and skincare products, so I avoid using any ingredients that have parabens, sulfates, phthalates, petrolatum, and other chemicals that can have adverse health effects.

What started out as a personal journey to begin using healthier beauty and personal care products, became a passion and a full-fledged business with rave reviews from customers. My products are tailored for both men and women, so in addition to my butters, balms, oils, and bath products, I also created a beard grooming line. Afterall, men deserve the same natural, organic and chemical free products that women often pay more attention to and use. I also found it important to create a community where people could share their journey of going natural and organic.

My membership subscription allows customers to connect with a like-minded community, while enjoying a few VIP perks. Besides free shipping on every order, members are eligible to receive two free gifts per year, receive new product sneak peaks, and get access to special promotions and giveaways. The goal is to makes sure that every customer and member’s experience is a pleasant one.

Lots of love and careful attention is put into each and every handmade product sold, and I want my customers to enjoy and be as blessed with using them as I have been. So, take a moment to check out my company’s website at: www.bantuvillageco.com, and may it contribute to you to enjoying the health and wellness results you deserve, 'baraka nyingi' (many blessings).

goals
1

About the Creator

Kiesha Haughton

Hi, my name is Kiesha Haughton, owner of a natural and organic hair and skincare company called Bantu Village. I also run a nonprofit organization called Abeja International Development, Inc., but in my downtime I love to write. Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.