Motivation logo

So My Idea For NaNoWriMo Was Stalled, So What😣?

Doesn’t life really get in the way at times?

By Jonathan TownendPublished 2 years ago • 4 min read
Like
So My Idea For NaNoWriMo Was Stalled, So What😣?
Photo by MarĂ­a GĂĄmez on Unsplash

‘Life is a song, sing it. Life is a game, play it. Life is a challenge, meet it. Life is a dream, realize it. Life is a sacrifice, offer it. Life is love, enjoy it.’

Ashok Kushwaha.

Life indeed is so much for us everyday.

Of course, as the quote tells us:

Life is a challenge…

And that is exactly what writing is all about… creating a new & different type of challenge for those that choose it📝🖨️.

Whether you choose to write poetry or go the whole hog and take on an entire 50,000 -word book, it is a life challenge that you chose to embark upon.

But, just as in life itself, it is not easy to commit to or accomplish within a set timescale, and sometimes, try as you might, your challenge hits a roadblock😤 and you think about why you even bothered?

Then again, just as in life, stumps & roadblocks get in the way of everything don’t they, so what do we do to get around it when this happens?

Do we run with our tails between our legs into the nearest foxhole?

No!

Do we run to our bedroom, hide under the duvet and simply give up?

No!

GIF courtesy of Tenor.

We take a short break, get back up, and try again.

The first introduction into attempting my NaNoWriMo adventure stumbled like a racehorse at the second hurdle.

GIF courtesy of Tenor.

But just like the smurf, I got right back up and started again.

What got in the way?

Simple, life got in the way. It happens to all of us. We get challenged everyday that passes us by don’t we? But it is how we manage it that really does count.

My stumble was Long Covid.

My original planned attempt was talked about in my next article below.

You see, I really did not expect that long after the virus had left me, that I would still be suffering on, but hey, thats, life isn’t it?

Still, what I did manage to succeed with was the first 11,500-words for my novel in that month. I suppose that I had never actually bargained for the Long Covid symptoms still to be impacting on my life after a year from being discharged home from hospital.

But that’s life for you, a spanner in the works is always just around the corner waiting to pounce!

My solution was to slow down, regroup so to speak, and get back on the horse🐎and start again from where I had left off.

Meanwhile I have been spending my time resting, revising thoughts, and accepting that life will always have it’s setbacks for me. What I want to show you is that in life, we get out of it what we put into it. Being physically disabled is not the end of the road.

The road carries on and so do you but just at a slower speed now…

So I‘m continuing to write, read, and comment, getting to know more and more of the great writers here on medium that are in abundance. The more I read, the more I discover that I am definitely not alone here. Indeed everyone has their own battles through life that they are dealing with.

So if you feel alone, talk, because many are willing to listen & share their own accounts of challenges that life has handed them too.

Even though my novel has not reached fruition, it’s not a fail but remains my challenge. I have my own publication here on medium, which I share the load with my wife Carol Townend entitled Creative Passions. But as you can see, writing has and always will continue to provide a life-long daily challenge for me.

There are always options in life for you to seek out and explore. Wtiting is simply one of the many just waiting for you to find and try for yourself.

Speaking as a past mental health practitioner too, writing is great for supporting your own mental health too.

If you haven’t already done so, why not give it a go?

GIF powered by Tenor.

Mental Health Matters…

Thank you all for taking time to read this today💖.

If you liked this story then please let me know by giving me a heart. Tips are always optional but, they keep allowing me to push my creativity forward too, and keep the lights running into the wee small hours of the night, with a steaming mug of coffee...

I love writing articles & fictional stories. They give me scope to express myself and free my mind. After working as a mental health nurse for 30 -years, writing allows an effective emotional release, one which I hope you will join me on.

Follow me here on Vocal and subscribe here too, so you can follow what I write on here. You can also follow me on Twitter, and on Medium too.

I also have a short story insight e-book published with Amazon Kindle Direct Publishing, about the life of a young woman who suffered the terrifying trauma of rape, and how the ensuing Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, began to affect her life afterward; which can be purchased below too.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Jonathan Townend

I love writing articles & fictional stories. They give me scope to express myself and free my mind. After working as a mental health nurse for 30 years, writing allows an effective emotional release, one which I hope you will join me on.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Š 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.