Motivation logo

NaNoWriMo Personal Challenge.

Or should I rename it NaFeWriMo as I’m doing it for February now. Though it doesn’t quite have quite the same ring to it. But it’s how you make it work for yourself that counts🤣.

By Jonathan TownendPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
NaNoWriMo Personal Challenge.
Photo by Etienne Girardet on Unsplash

‘Failure gave me strength. Pain was my motivation.’

Michael Jordan.

I love writing, and everything that comes from putting meaningful words together to make each & every story. This mere act supports me positively through my daily fight against my pain…

This article explains far more about the battle I endure:

I took up writing with far more ferocity than ever before in the middle of last year during my very slow & drawn out recovery from Long Covid, after spending weeks in the local hospital ‘red zone,’ that had been set up in a nationwide emergency response from the first serious wave of Covid-19.

Ever since finally coming to terms with the knowledge that my exacerbated physical disabilities, had put an early end to my working life.

However, determined to not let this go, I altered my perception and mindset, deciding that if I could no longer be part of the traditional workforce, then I would start writing all over again.

This time with far more determination to make a new way of earning for myself a possibility. After all, I had nothing to lose and everything to gain now…

My initial piece of writing was simply an 8,000 worded short(ish) fictional story about a girl suffering PTSD (post traumatic stress disorder) with the story’s intention of showing to readers, the difficulties that this complex mental health issue brought up:

‘A Passage Through Time.’

Currently on-sale with Amazon for £2.21 (or $2.99.)

Now to the NaNoWriMo challenge!

NaNoWriMo is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that provides tools, structure, community, and encouragement to help people find their voices, achieve creative goals, and build new worlds, on and off the page.

National Novel Writing Month began in 1999 as a daunting but straightforward challenge: to write 50,000 words of a novel during the thirty days of November.

NaNoWriMo.org

GIF courtesy of Tenor.

Or my adaptation, the NaFeWriMo new challenge!

So for this month of February I have began my newest challenge, to write my very first full-length novel. I’m not going to say more than simply, that my story is purely based in the fiction genre and has currently been titled as:

‘The Concealed Culture (Deep Within.)’

So if we look at the typical structure of the original challenge then, that’s 50,000 words in the month of November, well, it is February 2022 and there are just 28 days to complete this in…

That works out as needing to write 1,785 words approximately, by the close of the month…

I hope that you can all encourage me in my adventure along the way… I think I’ll need it but, my wife Carol Townend will most definitely need paracetamol for headaches as I drive her insane along this monthly passage🤣🤣.

The way I will be approaching it will be twofold. The first will be to keep up with my daily word count, and also by recording whether or not I actually achieved my weekly goals at the close of each of the four weeks of this current month of February 2022. Then my second tactic (which will be almost like an incentive for my end-of-the-month goal) will be by writing about whether my achievement for the week has been met, or if have I faild to meet it?) Then I'll keep you up-to-date both here on Vocal and over on Medium, by publishing these results.

I love writing articles & fictional stories. They give me scope to express myself and free my mind. After working as a mental health nurse for 30 -years, writing allows an effective emotional release, one which I hope you will join me on.

Follow me here on Vocal here and subscribe here too, so you can follow what I write on here. You can also follow me on Twitter, and on Medium too.

If you would like to encourage and support me, please leave me heart💖 and if feel like making me jump for joy then, why not leave drop me a tip too🤣.

goals
2

About the Creator

Jonathan Townend

I love writing articles & fictional stories. They give me scope to express myself and free my mind. After working as a mental health nurse for 30 years, writing allows an effective emotional release, one which I hope you will join me on.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.