Motivation logo

Slowing Down or Speeding Up

by Erika Ravnsborg

By Erika RavnsborgPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
Like
Slowing Down or Speeding Up
Photo by Nikolas Behrendt on Unsplash

Sitting here, writing what I do while I listen to the noise in the background has me questioning something. This question is.

"Am I going forward or am I slowing down?"

There are times where I am in the fast lane but then there are days like this. Where I am working hard at my craft and wanting to put something special out into the world. My love of words and adventure create something interesting for me.

Don't get me wrong, I enjoy it but there are times that I wonder what I am doing with myself.

As I sit here, I look at my walls of my bright colored bohemian pad and let it stimulate my senses. A place of action and creativity is what I crave and I pursue this thanks to all my vivid landscape. The smells are fresh thanks to the fact that I only cleaned the place yesterday.

So there are no distractions except to the classic movies that I listen to. Or at least at this moment it is an old film. Its intense music and harsh voices give an air of mystery and action to push me forward. It also fills my mind with words that may actually help with my writing.

This is where I stand (or in this case sit). Guinea pigs in their cage to the left of me, a windy storm brewing to the right. One brings me a sense of calm and home while the other stirs my blood which makes me want to run fast and far. So instead, I will write and fall in love with it as I do all over again.

My bare feet feel the cool bar that is attached to my coffee table. The chill of it keeps me aware and never lets me fall asleep when I need to get my work done. A grounding yet comforting feeling it is to have such a reminder.

I look down at my red finger nails which I painted the other night, wondering if they need another touch up.

"Nope!" I say to myself shaking my head. "No distractions. Too much needs to be done."

I think I just need a drink. I do have a nice small bottle of prosecco in my fridge that is dying to come out. Or is that just me? (tee hee). Never the less, I think it is time to bring it out. After all, didn't some wise singing sage once say, "It's 5 o'clock somewhere."

After the happy pop of the cork I pour the golden bubbly liquid into a completely inappropriate wine glass that is painted with butterflies, birds, and flowers. I find myself being happy and content all over again. In order to share this feeling, I give my two guinea pigs a vitamin C cookie each. They seem more energetic than I am at the moment.

My day started a little more quiet than I thought it would. Due to the fact that I spend my weekends exploring, going to some parties with friends, or even just taking myself out for a night on the town. I feel my day today being alot more different than I thought it would be.

Oh well, somedays you have to slow down and catch up with your work and homelife. I believe they actually call it life. Besides, there is more than one way to have a party. All you need is some good company (thank you guinea pigs), a warm place, and a little bubbly.

Time for a little break and that means some music. I take my glass and dance around the room, letting my joy take me over. Who says a party of one can't be fun? Pun intended. Cheers everyone!

how tohappinessgoalsadvice
Like

About the Creator

Erika Ravnsborg

Erika Ravnsborg is a writer/blogger/adventurer/explorer living in Canada. Her goal is to travel all over the world and write amazing stories about it. Find more of her adventures at https://www.magicalstoriestoshare.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.