Motivation logo

Silver Linings of Lockdown

Positive effects lockdown is having on humanity

By Ciara With a CPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

If you are in Scotland-the same as me- you will still be in lockdown! If not, I will give you the run down. We are currently allowed outside for unlimited exercise and to meet with a couple friends or family, as long as you are two metres apart. No shops, restaurants or businesses are open except for online shopping and takeaways. We have been in lockdown since March twenty third and today is currently June sixth, so we have been inside for a while now! However, I am glad we are still in lockdown as I feel it is not safe for people yet. It is the best option for the health and safety of the people in the country.

I am currently on furlough and have been since March twenty third! This has given me a lot of time to reflect and observe. During two months of lockdown I have been noticing the effects of having nowhere to go (except for a walk around your area of course). I have certainly noticed some differences in the human population.

First off the bat, people are turning to creativity. I have seen lot's of people starting new hobbies and being creative for potentially the first time in years! Being in lockdown has given spare time to many people and they are flourishing with creativity! Many creative things I have witnessed include baking, art, music, film, writing etc. You name it and people are doing it! I love it. Many of my friends have picked up a musical instrument for the first time or have started learning how to draw or bake! This is the perfect opportunity to be creative! Many people are also taking up hobbies such as gardening, cycling, yoga, running and walking. Doing active hobbies is great for mental health and physical health. It takes your mind off the fact there is a global pandemic. All these hobbies are helping people to get through these tough times!

People also look to creative outlooks during this time. This may be listening to music, watching your favourite movie, reading a book or binge watching a brand new TV series! All these past times can help people to escape from reality! The entertainment industry gives comfort and reassurance to people. Songs bring solace and remind the person that they are not alone and this pandemic will all be over eventually. Movies and books give fantasy for people to be in a different place, even if it only for an hour or two.

Another thing is that I have never seen as much people outside walking, running, cycling in all of my life! People are reverting back to older times and exploring nature! I feel as though people are more friendly nowadays as well! More people have said hello to me on my one walk a day than in my whole twenty one years of life pre lock down! This is good! Having free time to wander about and visit nature is grounding people and making them feel happier!

There is so much love during lock down! When it first began I got many letters through my door saying that if I needed help with shopping or anything at all to contact the number and they would help me! That is so nice! Neighbours coming together to help one another out is wonderful! It is bringing out the humanity in us! Our kind nature!

The people of the United Kingdom even still claps for the NHS every Thursday evening to show their appreciation of the health workers! And millions of pounds have been donated to the NHS. There was even a ninety nine year old war veteran-Captain Tom- who ran laps around his garden to help raise money for the health workers! Captain Tom raised nearly thirty three million pounds as of today for the NHS! What a great thing to do. He turned one hundrede years old in lockdown and even fulfilled his dream of singing on the radio and reached number one on his birthday!

The world is in a pandemic right and many people have died due to this virus! It is so heart breaking to even turn on the news! The numbers are slowly decreasing over time but until then stay at home if you can! You are literally saving lives by staying inside and doing fun hobbies! Even though the world is in a heart breaking state right now, more people than ever are helping each other out and doing things which make them happy! That is the only silver lining effects this deadly virus has!

I hope you stay strong and stay healthy! We will eventually get through this!

goals
1

About the Creator

Ciara With a C

Hi there! I am a 21 year old from the UK! I love to write about various topics such as music, poetry, television, books and things I do in my life! I love being positive! I also have a YouTube channel you can check out at Ciara WIth a C.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.