Motivation logo

Why you should start a YouTube channel!

Why creating a YouTube channel is getting me through Lock down.

By Ciara With a CPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
2

Lock down and being furloughed from my work has gotten me a bit bored to say the least. I am enjoying being off work and can have a lie in to watch endless amounts of movies. However, I feel as though I have watched and rewatched every movie and show Netflix and Amazon Prime has to offer me. I even got the Disney plus free week trial to have a nice week of animations and fairy tales, which I did thoroughly enjoy. It has now been nearly two months of constant TV shows and movies that I now feel as though I have no concentration left to really enjoy my favourite shows. To combat my lock down boredom and bring back my concentration, I have even taken up answering paid online surveys online.

One night, while on a three-hour survey binge I decided enough was enough and that I wanted to become more productive. I remembered my friend and I jokingly talking about how we should start a YouTube channel and become the new duo. I grew up watching YouTube and even now, still enjoy watching YouTube content. When I was younger, I always wanted to become a creator but was too scared of what others thought. A HUGE MISTAKE.

The next morning, I messaged my friend to say I was serious about the YouTube channel, she was game and that was it. The pact was made, and we decided to put our all into our channels. My friend and I decided we would post every Monday and Friday to keep us motivated. I thought two days a week was fair, I wanted to keep busy but not overkill so I would not lose my spark for it. That day, I pondered what to call myself and then created my very own channel.

Now I studied TV Production for a year in college, which gave me basic knowledge on set up and editing. I felt like the world was in my hands. This was all well and good, but the editing software I had used at college was not free and I only had an iPhone for a camera. However, this did not put me off and I was still feeling eager. So, I sat in my garden and with my phone in hand, I pressed record and off I went. I gave a little introduction on who I was, and I felt invincible. I edited a video of my cat into the video and up it went, I felt like a proud mother. I spammed every group of friends I had and begged them to like and subscribe to me. I felt the thrill as fifty people had viewed my very first video! They had viewed my creation! I was super happy that I had created something that people watched and liked! This was rewarding!

Honestly, I was expecting to make one video then give up, but this was not the case. I was super excited to create more videos and made my YouTube banner and thumbnail for my video! This channel was my creation and I wanted to be proud of it!

If you are pondering starting a channel or are just bored, I think you should make the leap and do it. It does not matter what equipment you have. If you have a phone or laptop and internet, then that is you sorted! I use iMovie and Inshot on my phone, which are great free apps if you wish to edit! I am only on my sixth video, but I am learning so much about editing and about myself. I am exploring the things I really enjoy and want to share with the world. I think that is empowering! You may worry about comments and trolls, but you can always turn comments off just as a safety blanket. If you want to unleash your creativity, recognise your confidence and be yourself (or someone else) then go for it!

Now, by no means am I expecting to become the next Zoella for instance but YouTube is giving me the motivation I need to get dressed in the morning (you know how it is in lock down). It gives me a reason to have creative personal goals. I plan to keep my YouTube channel going after lock down too. Creating content is fun and gives me a confidence I never thought I had. I post videos on what I like. I find this liberating! At college I loved filming but hated that I had to act in other people’s videos. YouTube has allowed me to be myself and have control on what I create! It has given me targets to reach and unleash a different creative side I never thought I had! I have control over what I post and can do it at my leisure as well. Those are my reasons why starting a YouTube channel was the best decision I made in lock down and why you should start your own YouTube channel. The freedom it brings is why I will continue to post more content for my 20 subscribers!

Shameless self-plug here but you can check out my channel and follow me on my YouTube journey! My name is ‘Ciara With a C’ on YouTube (creative I know). I am going to create fun videos about writing, film, music, and things I love. If you do decide to begin your creative journey, I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

social media
2

About the Creator

Ciara With a C

Hi there! I am a 21 year old from the UK! I love to write about various topics such as music, poetry, television, books and things I do in my life! I love being positive! I also have a YouTube channel you can check out at Ciara WIth a C.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.