Motivation logo

Setting Goals... We'll Talk About It

B9

By NeishPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1

Goal setting is something that we’re taught at an early age to do on the smallest scale, such as going a week without an infraction to get a reward on Fridays in grade school. I feel as though I’ve always been goal-oriented and kind of always knew what I wanted out of this life. Of course there were missing pieces that I wouldn’t have known until I kept living—which I’m filling in now. I remember being 15 and sending an email to the VP of sales, for a company I won’t name, detailing my goals and what age I wanted to hit them by. He was so impressed by this ambitious 15 year-old that he flew me and two of my relatives out to one of his red carpet events. It was surreal. He read my letter to thousands of people. Afterwards, audience members asked for my autograph and to take photos with me, he gifted me monetarily and he became my mentor. The relationship I had with him at such a forming age is still so special to me to this day. I remember him telling me, post-event, that it’s not okay to stop dreaming or making goals, but it is completely okay if those goals alter slightly or if YOU decide they’re not what you want. With him saying that, I was able to grant myself grace as an adult (currently)--not to where I slack off or get lazy with my ambitions, but to where I know my limits and I know when I can go harder. Most importantly, I know that as long as I’m working hard–it’s okay if it takes a little longer. You’ll miss the target a few times, but be proud that you’re headed in the right direction. Adjust your shot and try again, again, and again. You’ll get there. I owe a lot to this man just for taking a chance on me and giving me a taste of the life I’m still working towards now.

I think everyone should physically write down their goals. Typing them out on a computer is fine and cute with colored fonts, but take a moment to write them down. I think it makes you more intentional with what you choose to put down. Write down ambitions you actually have to work for, whether those are short term or long term. If you want to cut out sugar for the month, that's a short term goal. I usually don't write down short term goals. But anything that’ll take 6 months or more to get done, I jot it down. I’m not the goal police, so obviously do as you please. Do two lists if that makes you comfortable or more focused.

Don’t let the goals you write down be what others want for your life either. This is all about you. You get to be so self-considerate and no one can call you selfish. There is no one that can live your life for you, so why would you live your life by someone else’s standards? If you’re not sure what you want to do with your life or what you even want to work towards—start with the big two. Or what I consider the big two. Finances and Health. I think these are going to be prominent in your life no matter what you decide to do career wise, so it’s wonderful to lay groundwork with them. It’s great to give yourself a financial goal on what you’d like to save, how much you want to make, if you’ll invest, or what you want to put money towards recreationally. Health can have so many subheadings, but I instantly think of mental health– so maybe therapy. Going to the doctor and making sure you’re good in all areas. The gym– just getting in shape to be able to enjoy activities you may want to try. Feel good, look good. I feel as though when you have those two as a foundation, you’re more confident to explore other aspects of life and create goals based on those findings.

I don’t want to preach to you too much, so go grab a pen and go write down 3 things you want to accomplish this year. I don’t care what it is, just make sure it’s for you. If you’re still trying to figure out what “for you” looks like, don’t worry… we’ll talk about it.

Happy Tuesday! (:

successself helpquoteshow tohappinessgoalsadvice
1

About the Creator

Neish

Hi! I’m Aneisha. I'm the author of the blog--We'll Talk About It! It releases every Tuesday. You can also find some short stories and poems I used to write, while you're waiting for the next blog post. <3

Instagram: @aneishabrackens

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.