Motivation logo

Self Love, Passion, and Depression

What is life with an unknown source of depression?

By Angel AllsopPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

About six months ago I thought I was happy, I thought I had found what I wanted to do in life. I had just gotten into EMT school and that was the first step in the career I wanted to be in, so I thought. Then once that semester was over I got a job at an ambulance company and that was my second step in achieving my goal to be a flight medic. I worked at that company for about three and a half months before I started to get this depressed feeling. Now by this time I had failed my national exam to become an EMT and was only a first responder at this company which means I was just a driver. I thought that this job was not right for me and sitting around for twelve hours a day waiting for a call was the source of my depression and the reason I was so unmotivated to do things. After I quit, I started to figure out that the job was not the source at all. I went back full time at the restaurant I was working at and thought that feeling of depression would go away and for a little while it did until it came back. I started arguing with my boyfriend a little more and was negative about a lot of things. I finally realized that the source of my depression was myself. I found that I didn’t really love myself and who I was anymore. I didn’t tell anyone about the way I was feeling until recently. I want to take back my life and get back to loving myself again. When I talk about loving myself I don’t just mean physically but mentally too. I have let my mind go and it is a constant battle of what am I going to do now. I feel as if I have no real purpose in life anymore and no I don’t mean that in a suicidal stand point but in a stand still point of view. I need to step out of my comfort zone to somehow find my motivation, courage, and drive in life. I sit back and really think about what I have in life and I mean I am thankful I have a roof over my head and food to eat but the only people I really have is my loving but small family, my best friend, and my boyfriend. I don’t talk to many people, so I guess I’m more of an introvert and I haven’t found any hobbies that I am passionate about. I write every so often but it’s mostly to get things off my chest and mind. I am not sure what to do anymore. I think I need to get away from life for a bit and focus more on my selfcare and really learn to love myself because how can someone else love me if I am so stuck in my own pity world. I can’t even express how I feel anymore I just end up crying about everything because I feel that there is so much pressure in my head that I can’t even explain why I am feeling the way I do. For the past few days in the morning I have been listening to speeches about selflove and passions and it has opened my eyes quite a bit, but how am I supposed to achieve that. I feel like this is my first step, acknowledging how I feel and getting it out of my head because it feels like I am drowning. I want to find my purpose, my love, my drive, my passion, and learn to love again. The only thing, is that it all starts with finding myself first.

happiness
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.