Motivation logo

Mornings

Why is it so hard to have a productive morning?

By Angel AllsopPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2

Morning People

I never quite understood what makes someone a morning person other than that they like getting up before the sun and feel good doing it. I have watched countless videos on morning routines, how to wake up early, and how to have a productive morning and yet I just can't do it. The few mornings that I have gotten up before the sun, I love the view of the sun rising into the sky while having my coffee, but it doesn't motivate me enough to do it every day. In many of the videos that I have seen of people getting up at five in the morning and accomplishing a list of things makes me want to do the same but why does it have to be so hard.

My Experience

I do not consider myself as a morning person nor a night owl, I am just one of those people that love my sleep. Do I love my sleep a bit too much? I think so because I try and sleep every chance I can. Sometimes it takes over my day, I take a nap which ends up being three hours then wake up and not want to do anything. When I try to wake up early, I find myself bored with nothing to do so I sit and watch television shows and next thing I know half of my day has gone to waste. I tend to be a very organized person and take joy in that and even setting goals but when it comes to planning out my day I cannot stick to it. I have tried making lists the night before but then when morning rolls around I am not motivated to actually do it. Part of my problem is also that I live in a bedroom and a bathroom I have been renting and the hardest thing is getting things done when my bed is only a few feet away. I take one look at my bed and think I can just take a short nap which then turns into a two-hour sleep session. I'm not sure if this is just me but it definitely makes getting things done ten times harder.

Motivation

The definition of this word is a strong reason to act or accomplish something. My problem with this is why is it so hard to find that reason and carry out the act. I have had a problem finding motivation to workout, get up early, and even study sometimes. I know that my reason for working out is to love my body again, the reason to get up early is to get more things done, and my reason to study is to work at getting my dream job. So, I have my reasons but I struggle with carrying out the action towards my goals. For example, tonight before I sat down to write this I tried to study, and I got about forty questions done before I lost interest and started writing this instead.

A Positive Attitude

The biggest problem of mine about this situation is that I might not have the most positive attitude towards it. I say why can't I do this instead of I want to do this, and this is how I will accomplish it. I tend to be really hard on myself instead of encouraging which is something I really need to work on. I purposely distract myself with television or sleep instead of facing and putting joy in the things I have to do to accomplish the goals that I set. A mind battle between negativity and positivity is something you do not consciously think about but initially it is your choice on how to think and act. It is always said a positive mind leads to a positive attitude, so I guess it's time to work on mine.

advice
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.