Motivation logo

Finding Strength in Linkin Park’s ‘Battle Symphony’

Getting lost in the music, discovering the melodies of your soul, there’s nothing like it for me.

By Yasemin Yiğit KuruPublished 11 days ago 3 min read
Like
created with Bing Copilot

Diving into those depths while listening to Linkin Park, transcending boundaries, and hearing the true voice of my soul is an inevitable sensation.

Especially after Chester Bennington’s death, I made a great effort to seek refuge in their music to better understand him.

The fact that they won’t be creating new songs anymore still saddens me. However, music is immortal, and their old songs will always continue to inspire.

Formed in California in 1996, Linkin Park has become a legendary figure in the music world ever since. Their fusion of alternative rock and nu metal, along with Chester Bennington’s unique vocals and the band’s tremendous instrumental skills, make them unforgettable.

“Battle Symphony” is featured on the “One More Light” album released in 2017. This album showcases the band’s maturity and evolution. With its profound lyrics and emotional melodies, it touches the souls of listeners. Not just Battle Symphony but along with that i also love Talking to Myself and Invisible in this album a lot.

Returning to work after a long vacation can be really challenging, especially if you work in an office.

This morning, waking up with negative energy, I thought the day would be tough for me. The negative emotions that I thought I had cleaned with fresh air and meditations during the vacation seemed to have returned back as if not gone at all.

But unconsciously, “Battle Symphony” from my favorite music list came to rescue me unannounced. This song, like a fantastic super power, creates a deep impact in my subconscious.

To me, “Battle Symphony” is not just a melody but, as its name suggests, a symphony of battle.

Each note is like a sword strike depicting the struggle, resilience, and rising again. As the lyrics say, “If my armor breaks, I’ll fuse it back together,” reminding us to believe in the strength within us and to never give up. T

his song wakes up the warrior within us and gives us courage in life’s challenging moments.

The lines echoing in the chorus, ‘I hear my battle symphony,’ emphasize the need for us to rise again and continue the struggle after every fall.

Life is like a symphony filled with difficulties, and each note teaches us a lesson.

What matters is not giving up, rising again after every hardship, and persevering in the struggle.

But the lyrics that impacts me the most is:

They say that I don’t belong

Say that I should retreat

That I’m marching to the rhythm

Of a lonesome defeat

But the sound of your voice

Puts the pain in reverse

No surrender, no illusions

And for better or worse

These lyrics reminds me of what I’ve experienced unfairly in the workplace as a woman, as a mother, and I empathize deeply with it.

It’s as if Chester is speaking directly to me. That’s why I prepared the cover image in this way.

Even though there are no axes or swords, every day in offices, with laptops, meetings, and emails, we’re in a struggle, actually.

“When they turn down the lights” part reminds me of those who try to extinguish my light despite all my struggles, all my good will and hopes.

But for Chester Bennington, the meaning is much deeper and painful. This part likely refers to the abuse he suffered in his childhood. Despite experiencing such things, being able to create such a song and instill hope in people is incredibly valuable.

Even though he couldn’t mend his armor in the end, I feel that he still supports us in finding the power to mend our own armor, and I’m grateful to him for this song.

Stay well, listen to the battle symphony of your soul, and never give up.

how toself helphealinghappiness
Like

About the Creator

Yasemin Yiğit Kuru

an engineer who loves reading and writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.