Motivation logo

Reality of Life

Facing it is better than ignoring it

By Sujatha Mwangi-VipulanandaPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
Like
Change is immident

Do you ever wonder what things would be like if things didn't change?

I have come to realise that many people like myself like to live in their little bubble where it is safe, and nobody can change us as long as we are there. Can you relate? It is so much easier to run away from our problems, than deal with them when they come towards us. Do you agree?

I was talking to my coach, and he said in order to deal with the problems we have, we to go through it and deal with the pain and the emotion. When I heard this, it sounded quite frightening who would want to do that? However, after so much counselling and being diagnosed with Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and coming to terms with it and accepting it has made life easier. Having the right people around you make all the difference in the world too.

Stepping out comes with a cost but it is better than not living your life. It might seem scary and frightening but its better than missing out on all the great opportunities that you could achieve in life and the people you can meet and befriend. I like change, it brings promise, hopes and dreams come alive. My friend believes that if we renew our minds, daily with positive talk we would much happier people. If we speak negatively about ourselves, we are going to have a negative outcome. I am not saying to ignore negative circumstances but speak life into them. Like today is going to be wonderful day. Instead of life is so miserable and I can't do anything, which statement brings you life?

We can't run or hide from it because it's a part of who we are and by dealing with our issues, we build knowledge, wisdom and character. Understand, that I am not saying it is going to be easy, but its far better than ignoring it and pretending it doesn't exist. Living a fantasy is not realistic because it creates a false concept of the world that is not real and can have long term affects in our relationships with others, there comes a point in our lives where we all have to face it, instead of ignoring it. We can do that through someone you trust friend, family member, counsellor etc.

Don't ever feel bad for getting help, I tried to commit suicide four times because I felt so worthless and ugly because I was sexually assaulted by a family member and life seemed so dim and no light at the end of the tunnel but someone else had other plans because every time, I tried I failed and was saved. I am glad and very grateful because I am a blessing and I love to pour out that person's love out on others I couldn't do it without him. He truly was my centre and by holding onto his words, hugs and surrounding me around the right people I got through. I am still on the journey of healing from the incident and many other incidents with this person, but you are not alone. I am right there with you, as you read this story, I hope that you will feel a sense of encouragement.

Do not you not to throw in the towel, you can do it! We are fearfully and wonderfully made with a purpose, otherwise we wouldn't be here. In order to reach that purpose, we need to deal with the reality of life. Hold on my dear friend and never give up. Thankyou.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Sujatha Mwangi-Vipulananda

i love singing and dancing. I enjoy writing uplifting stories that encourage and lift people up.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.