Motivation logo

Quarantine Abs

Attempt #2

By Fan LiuPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I remember back in March 2020, when the coronavirus was just on the brink of becoming a pandemic, I was at a recreational volleyball game and was chatting with my teammates regarding its imminent approach. Someone said that that game was probably going to be the last one we will have in a month. And here we are today, not having seen my team for almost a year.

I was pretty active before the pandemic and participated in different sports three to four times a week. Once the pandemic hit, I was a little lost since all my avenues of physical activity had been put on hold. I really didn't think it would last this long so at the beginning, I didn't look for alternatives to stay in shape. After a couple months of inactivity, I might have put on a couple pounds, but the worst thing was that I had became extremely out of shape without even realizing it.

Once summer came in June, my work decided to encourage everyone to exercise by organizing a step challenge. Basically you had to count your steps every day and convert them into kilometers and whoever got the most kilometers at the end of the month would receive a prize. I consider myself a competitive person so needless to say, I decided to participate in the challenge. I thought that the fastest way to get the most steps would be to go out for runs so on that first day, I decided to go out for a 5km run. That is when I realized how out of shape I had become in just a short few months. One of the sports I actively participated in previously was frisbee, and for those who don't know the sport, it contains A LOT of running. So running a 5km was quite easy before, but not on that day. I had to take a few walking breaks and it probably took me 40minutes to complete. After that extremely discouraging run, I realized that I had to get back into shape.

Another thing that happened around June was when I started to see the #QuarantineAbs on Instagram. Celebrities and non-celebrities alike were posting on their Instagram pictures of their nice looking abs of which they presumable got during the quarantine. I thought to myself, damn, while I was wasting my last three months doing nothing, these people used it to get into way better shape. That was when I set my goal to get my own #QuarantineAbs2020.

Now that we are in 2021 and I do not yet have a six-pack, I will label this as my second attempt at it. So how do I plan to do this? Simple (NOT).

First off I have signed up for a few things to push me to continue exercising. It is especially difficult right now during the winter time, as all I want to do is lay in my warm and cozy bed and do nothing (except eat snacks). It is good that at this time, many exercise courses have moved online. I signed up for a virtual step challenge where my friend and I are trying to complete 1332.5KM (the distance of the Ring Road in Iceland) in 3 months; which converts to about 8km a day for the each of us. This is a good way to motivate me to get my cardio in every day and I need a lot of that because running on a treadmill is dreadfully boring. I envy the people who can run outside in the winter time, I do not know how they do it but I have yet been able to bring myself to do that, so dreadfully boring treadmill running it is. Another thing I signed up for was a fitness course at a local college for police training. I really have no intention of becoming a police officer, but I figured that their fitness training might whip me up a six-pack. Since it is now online, I can do it in the comfort of my own home. Finally I signed up for a beginner's hip-hop class, which is also online. This class turned out to be really enjoyable especially since I can keep my camera off so that no one can see me and my embarrassingly awkward dance moves.

Secondly, and lastly since this is all I got, is keeping tabs on what I eat (kind of). Keeping a diet is hard because as pretty much everyone else, I like eating food. But the quarantine is slightly helping since I now only go out to grocery shop once a week and actually plan out the meals that I am going to make for the week. It is still hard to avoid the desire to get snacks when I am at the store but if I can walk away, then I won't have any around the house to eat.

Well, that is it for my quarantine abs plan, we will see how much longer the quarantine lasts and if I will be able to obtain my goal before it ends or not.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.