Motivation logo

Passionate Life

My experience

By Ashley BeardPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
Passionate Life
Photo by Denys Nevozhai on Unsplash

We as humans have certain talents, projects, goals, careers, and so much more that we are passionate about in life. However, sometimes we never really finish those passions, or sometimes we talk about them and never proceed through. I happen to fulfill that role sometimes.

A lot of times my motivation, dedication, and time management fail. I will talk about wanting to proceed with a career, job, goals in life and things I want to accomplish. However, I don't always follow through with plans. I am going to be discussing a few passions, goals, and dreams that I wanted to pursue, but lost my motivation during the process.

In 2016, I came from Indiana and I relocated to NC with my son. At this time, I had a Chrysler Sebring, and my drivers permit. I was 21 at this point, however I had no driver’s license. I also was not attending college, and nor did I have a form of employment. I came from a home that did me no good, and that didn't get me anywhere in life.

I can honestly say that relocating was the best decision I have ever made. I have come a long way. I ended up getting my driver’s license in 2016. I had a good job, and I even ended up getting a new vehicle. In 2017 I started college at Miller-Motte working on an Associate’s Degree in the Criminal Justice Field. During that same year I wanted to become a part of the armed forces.

During the armed forces process I had talked to each recruiter in each branch. I started out with the Marines, due to my grandfather being in for 30 years and 3 months. I remember when I was a baby my grandma took me to visit him at work, and I got to sit on his desk, and I even called his command. I would even walk around my grandparent’s house with his combat boots on. I have always looked up to my grandfather, and decided that the Marines would be a great career for me.

The only downfall about the Marines is that you have to give up custody of your child or children unless you are married. I didn’t want to go through with this, because I didn’t really trust anyone around me. I decided to go talk to the Navy, and I proceeded with taking my practice ASVAB test which I scored a 99% on. The recruiter then started with paperwork, and I started doing PT with the Army and Marines due to the Navy not having PT. The reason I decided to join the Navy is because I love the water, and because they offer a waiver instead of making you give up custody. My only downfall is that I couldn’t quite join because of my weight, but I could once I reached the appropriate weight.

I went home and started to work on my weight. However, I later found out I was pregnant when I went to the hospital, and for awhile I did not know that I was. I still proceeded to work on my weight the best I could, but since I was pregnant with a child, I started to question if the Military was a good fit for me. Being pregnant made me feel like I had limited choices on what I could do while being pregnant and what I could do after the pregnancy.

I had started to make other plans and arrangements, but then I decided to take a big move to Texas in 2018. While being in Texas, this made things even harder for me even with having 2 children with little or no support. My family gave up on me, and they just treated me like garbage. I even found that working has became a lot harder during this time as well. I even tried to end my life, and almost succeeded. Which I think about a lot. I even had something happen to my children and I while we were in Texas. I had to make a choice on whether it was for me to relocate back to home or too loose my children for good. I decided at that moment I would pack up all of my things and head back home.

However, this time the move would be with one of my Marine friends. When I got here, I transferred all of my things, found my son and daughter a daycare, found a good job on base, and even had a sitter for my children. I even went back to focusing on loosing my weight and decided to think about the Military again. Although, then I started having some health complications that has put a stop from me joining.

Now that it is 2021, life has changed drastically, for not only myself but my children as well. Knock on wood, but life has been so great. I have prayed for things to get better and for my situation to change! I have a job in a call center as a mentor making more than what I was in my previous job, I got a raise on my child support, my credit score is increasing, the amount of my car loan is decreasing, more money is going into my pocket, I am attending Strayer University to get my Bachelor’s degree, my weight is going down, and not only that but due to a healing prayer I found out that my cancer is now gone!

However, for the Military, that question is still standing. I now have applied to the Air Force, and am working on the accurate weight for that. I am also working on getting my degree in Law Enforcement, but plan to move up too a chief, or even go further into becoming an attorney. I have a few more plans that I am looking into pursuing, but I am just trying to do some research before I get started. One of those goals is investing into the stock market, and that is actually something that I am currently putting my money into at the moment, so I have actually started this goal. The next one is looking into obtaining a degree in becoming a veterinarian because one of my passions is animals. My last goal that I have in mind in becoming a relator and having my own business for cleaning services which I also have a passion for this as well.

There are a lot of things that I want to pursue and accomplish in my future. Too avoid my previous actions of just talking about wanting to do something, I have been putting in the initiative to work harder, focus more, be more selective with time management and make a plan for myself, now that I know exactly what I want to do. My circle of social life has even gotten smaller, because the people I was hanging around, didn’t want to do anything in life, and just weren’t doing any good for me.

I came here to write, because writing is another passion that I have and love. I wanted to get on here, and apply to this contest because I wanted to show the world that I had dreams that I wanted to pursue, and just the lack of motivation I had changed my dreams. I wanted to let the world know that with my experience’s life can change at any time. However, if you really want to do something, don’t look back. Continue to stick to a plan, and if there is something you really want in life grab it and don’t let go. You only live once, and just because your situation changes, it doesn’t mean that your life plans have to change too.

success
1

About the Creator

Ashley Beard

Single Mom of 2!

Strayer University College Student!

Looking to get my voice out there, and become something great!

Wanting to follow my dreams!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.