Motivation logo

PART 03

How Can One Basic Tool Have So Many Effective Applications?

By Feel Your LifePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
PART 03
Photo by Benjamin Davies on Unsplash

Excellent inquiry. The #5SecondRule is constantly focused on YOU.

Greatness resides inside of you. There is grandeur within you, even at your lowest. The Rule will give you the guts to act on that greatness as well as the clarity to hear it.

I have gained the courage to take action after using the Rule, something I had been putting off for years. I've only been able to access my inner power to become the person I've always wanted to be through taking action. Furthermore, I refer to my on-screen, internet, and stage confidence as "Real Confidence."

Marlowe discovered just how easy it is to use the Rule to transform herself.

Days after learning the Rule, she used it to stop thinking about signing up for

classes and actually do it, which was something she “had been wanting to do but kept making excuses for, for a long time.”

Marlowe discovered just how easy it is to use the Rule to transform herself.

Days after learning the Rule, she used it to stop thinking about signing up for classes and actually do it, which was something she “had been wanting to do but kept making excuses for, for a long time.”

As Marlowe put it, "Once you wrap your brain around your own ability to PUSH yourself, it's just fantastic and awe-inspiring how easy things become."

She's correct. As soon as you begin to use the Rule to rid yourself of your thoughts

You'll be "astonished" at how simple it is to make a decision that alters everything in only five seconds into action.

I became more and more aware of my daily tiny decisions that were holding me back as I applied the Rule to my life. I'd make the decision to remain silent, wait, and not take a chance in less than five seconds. I would have an urge to act, but within five seconds my mind would put a stop to it with anxiety, reasons, or dread. I was the issue, and there

I could push myself and get the answer in only five seconds. Five-second judgments had been the key to change all along, right in front of my eyes.

There are these two young fish swimming along, and they happen to meet an older fish swimming the other way, who nods

at them and says, “Morning, boys, how’s the water?”

And the two young fish swim on for a bit, and then eventually one of them looks over at the other and goes, “What the hell is water?”

You can hear the audience laugh in the video, and then Wallace explains the

immediate point of the fish story is that “the most obvious, important realities are often the ones that are the hardest to see and talk about.”

For me, the hardest thing to see and talk about was the very nature of change

itself. I had always wondered why it was so damn hard to make myself do the

things that I knew I should do in order to expand my career, enrich my

relationships, become healthier, and improve my life. Discovering the

#5SecondRule gave me the million-dollar answer—change comes down to the courage you need every day to make five second decisions.

You Are One Decision Away from a Completely Different Life

Inside this book, I’m going to share everything that I’ve learned about change and the power of everyday courage. You’re going to love what you are about to learn. The coolest part will be when you start to use the Rule and see the results for yourself. You will not only wake up and realize just how much you’ve held yourself back. You will also awaken the power that’s been inside of you all along.

As you read the stories inside these pages, you might even realize that you’ve used the #5SecondRule before. If you look back on your life and reflect on some of the most important moments, I guarantee that you’ve made a life-changing decision purely on instinct. In five seconds flat, you made, what I call, a “heart-first decision.” You ignored your fears and let your courage and your confidence speak for you. Five seconds of courage makes all the difference.

MORE IN NEXT PART (04)

successhappinesscelebritiesadvice
Like

About the Creator

Feel Your Life

Feel Your Life.....................

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.