Motivation logo

Paper Is My Canvas And Scissors Are My Instrument.

Make it snow

By Dae StevensPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Paper Is My Canvas And Scissors Are My Instrument.
Photo by Diana Schröder-Bode on Unsplash

I don’t remember how it started. All I can recall is the feeling of satisfaction as I unfolded my creation into something people called beautiful. It was easy and I was praised for it so positive reinforcement drove me to develop the skill even further. Any shade of any size of paper could become a representation of the snowflakes that were as unique as the ones I shaped with scissors.

First I would pick the paper and make it into a symmetrical four-sided canvas. The next step was to fold into a triangle. After folding two additional times the layers in my square were now ready to be changed into new shapes and edges. I would take the scissors and do a snip here and a snip there. Sometimes I followed a well-established pattern but oftentimes it was whatever felt right in the moment. As I became more adventurous and aggressive there were times when the cuttings left much to be desired but there is so going back once the clip is made. No going back but I could start again. As I repeated the process again and again I found that I knew how to make each flake a uniquely beautiful creation.

Once the clipping was done I would unfold my canvas to reveal the square had become copies of unique windows arranged in a circle. Some windows fit well into the neighboring ones making it a pleasant sight for the eye. Others would have no particular value but to give stimulation in a blank space. No two would be the same as I repeated this process over and over enjoying the task and feeling of pride that followed.

By Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I remember a time that I was called upon to create snowflakes for décor so, in my mind, each one had to be perfect. With this new stress the scissors became heavy and tension affected each cut. Creating with someone’s expectation took enjoyment from the task and I noticed more the ache in my hand after hours of work. Soon after started a time when I put down the scissors and paper and moved on to other things.

Sometime later I picked up my creating tools again. I seemed to only remember the good times I’d had before. A new stress was present however. While before I had assumed that cutting paper flakes would be simple to anyone that tried, now I had a companion who struggled. Teaching this skill was something I was not prepared to do. It came so easily for me but telling him to cut was seemed right did not translate effectively. He was frustrated and I was confused. Again the ache of my hand returned and now it seemed the mess of paper trimmings were more annoying than before. When that experience passed I again decided to take break from the hobby I had loved so much.

I discovered a variation of the task I so much enjoyed when I turned my scissors to heart-making instead. I would cut the shapes of hearts in a variety of colors and sizes so similar to what I had done before. Then using glue I would put them together creating overlapping symbols of love. This craft was so much simpler than what I had been doing before and I found joy again in my paper creations.

Now and again I will start the process of shaping, folding and cutting just for fun. I share the fruits of my skill when I can and try to help other see the simplistic beauty shaped paper when it is sniped by an artist’s tool. For myself I try to never underestimate again the power of paper, scissors and the desire to create.

happiness
1

About the Creator

Dae Stevens

Writing Always

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.