Motivation logo

One Route To Success

“You are a white male, living in America, how can you only get one route to success?”

By Annelise Lords Published 12 days ago 4 min read
1
Image by Annelise Lords

Tony Longhorne was invited to give a speech to the graduating class of 2024 by six different colleges. He researched all six to find the one where the students would benefit the most from his experience and route to success. Only one speaks to him. St. Marks College. A Catholic college that was immensely diverse.

He stood on the podium staring at the smiles on the face of many brilliant minds from everywhere in our world.

Before he could speak, an average-sized Carmel-skinned female, sporting dreadlocks, asked, “You are a white male, living in America, how can you only get one route to success?”

He smiled, she was listening to him on WRY FM 209 radio station a few days ago.

“What has my race got to do with how many routes to success I got?” he asked.

“A man of your stature, intelligence, capability, and knowledge of our world is aware of what racism has done to certain races in this country. You really want me to answer that?” she questioned his intention.

He smiled, then said, “Many white people are struggling in America.”

“Other races aren’t made to feel that way and there are laws to back that up. We were made to feel a certain race is first,” she said staring into his eyes from her seat in the front row a few yards away.

“You are right,” he relents, reading her body language, and the pain in her eyes while sensing her experience with racism. Then admits, “My mother has your skin color.”

The audience gasped and he went on. “In our world, it doesn’t matter how you look. If one of your parents is black. You are black.”

“So that robbed you of other routes to success?” she pressed on.

“In those days, yes.”

“Tell us how,” she demands.

Tony’s eyes shot up, and down quickly, and he eased back into a painful period in his life and elaborates, “I had to earn my way into all educational institutions in this country doing triple duty while living in the South. My race was known and I was treated as if I was black.”

“They were blind,” a voice in the audience said. “Because I see nothing black on you except a few hairs on your face.”

“And the clothes and shoes you are wearing,” someone else adds.

“I agree,” other graduates said.

“But why would your family allow that to happen?” someone questioned.

“That’s just how it was then,” he explained.

“It’s the same now. Look at Megan Merkle. She looks like you and they are calling her black,” the same dreadlocks hair female reminds.

“I guess we haven’t changed as I thought,” he admits.

“Did it hurt?” Someone asked.

“Of course, racism hurt!” Many voices shout.

“Yes, it did,” Tony quickly said quickly taking back control. “But most of my mother’s people understood and welcomed me,” he recalled his experiences as an interracial child.

“The part I don’t get,” a male voice said. “The race that is hated the most and rejected, is the race that accepts you and shows kindness and love.”

“Not all of them,” a voice adds.

“So, race is success in America?” another graduate asked.

“A lot has changed since,” he said. “But my route to success depends on Wesley Jenkins.”

“The billionaire and genius Wesley Jenkins!” Many voices in the audience echo.

Tony smiled, as he was a major contributor to this college.

“He was giving an internship and four of us were chosen to meet him at a certain location. I had a bad habit of going early to strange or new places I didn’t know.”

“How is that a bad habit?” someone asked.

With a grin, he says, “It’s not, but I often get into trouble with others because I like to be early for everything.”

“Me too,” several graduates admit.

“The other three didn’t agree so I leave them behind. Our appointment with Mr. Jenkins was at 10:00 AM. I got there at a quarter to nine. Mr. Jenkins was already there!”

“What!” The audience screamed.

“He was impressed with my being on time and gave me an internship with his Company. He bought me breakfast and I asked as I enjoyed my meal, “Do you always show up more than an hour early for your appointments?”

He smiled and looked at his watch which said minutes to eleven. Then he glances at the clock in the restaurant that shows minutes to ten. I handed him mine which was showing the same time as the clock in the restaurant.”

Confusion lined the faces of the graduates.

“He fought with his wife the night before and slammed his left hand into the wall, hitting his expensive watch. That hit, send the hour hand forward one hour. He wasn’t aware until that moment.”

“OMG!” Shot from every brain, heart, mind, and soul pulling awe and silence behind it.

“He hired me without experience after my six-month internship ended, and I ran his company for years until I started my own. The point I am trying to make is success won’t follow you. It’s everywhere waiting to be discovered in places you can’t imagine, see, or understand. You can find it in a good habit too. When you go out there, give your best. Only your best can beat failure!”

The audience screamed and cheered.

“So a good habit was your route to success?” She asked after control returned.

“I didn’t know that it would be. None of you can or will know. But with your best, it can be!”

“What happened to your friends?” She asked.

“They had to find another route to success!”

Success won’t come looking for you. You have to go out there to find it. It’s in the weirdest places and things too. But, when giving your best it will show itself to you.

If your heart could speak, what would it say?

All humans have a secret to their success. Many don’t know what it is, yet!

Thank you for reading this piece. I hope you enjoyed it.

how tosuccesshealinggoalsadvice
1

About the Creator

Annelise Lords

Annelise Lords writes short inspiring, motivating, thought provoking stories that target and heal the heart. She has added fashion designer to her name. Check out https: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtisticYouDesigns?

for my designs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 12 days ago

    Fantastic story! Racism is bad’ ☮️🇮🇱✌🏿❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.