Motivation logo

Negative Self-Perceptions that Prevent You from Moving Forward

Unleashing Your Potential: Escaping the Grip of Self-Sabotaging Beliefs

By The Enlightenment JourneyPublished 11 months ago 6 min read
Like
Negative Self-Perceptions that Prevent You from Moving Forward
Photo by Danilo Batista on Unsplash

Enjoy yourself, take long, leisurely breaths, and unwind. - Buddhist monk Nhat Hanh

I moved every three to six months and had been living out of a suitcase for about three years at that time. This kind of lifestyle could appeal to some individuals as being interesting and unusual. However, those who have experienced it can attest to how exhausting and dreadful it can be. I felt entirely cut off from the rest of the world, miserable at work, and unhappy in my personal relationships.

I was aware of my unhappiness and my need for change, but I felt utterly imprisoned in the way of life I had chosen for myself. The following ideas immediately sprang to mind when I thought about my inertia:

  • I misplaced all of my drives.
  • I'm awful at finishing things on schedule.
  • Time is of the essence, and I must move quickly.
  • I don't have the means at my disposal.
  • Any chance of a turnaround has passed.
  • I have an excessive number of obligations.
  • I don't know who I am.
  • Where do I even begin? I am clueless.

I suddenly saw that it was only because of my own set of restricting ideas that I had been unable to adjust.

So let's examine how these eight limiting assumptions constrain both you and me:

1. Not Being Driven

Then perhaps you're just worn out. A lack of social support and excessive weariness are common factors in this kind of burnout. When this occurs, it's OK to begin referring to oneself as "lazy."Even thinking about changing my situation required a lot of energy, let alone taking action.Look around you carefully and ask yourself who or what is robbing you of your energy and why. Do you feel confined? Do you lack motivation because you are tired, or the other way around?

Related: Why We Can’t Seem to Move Forward and What to Do About It

2. I Often Put Things Off

Procrastination is one of the many physical symptoms that anxiety may produce.My motivation came from my fear of losing the freedom I enjoyed in my attachment-free way of life. Fear of failing, of not knowing all the solutions, and of choosing the incorrect course of action all played a role.Why do you always procrastinate? Why are you so fearful?

3. I Must Hurry

Lao Tzu is credited with saying that time is something that must be made. "I don't want to" is synonymous with "I don't have time." You could be finding it tough to alter it because you loathe doing so. I didn't want to change since it felt so liberating to have so little stuff. I also like visiting interesting places. As I described the components of my position that I liked and loathed, my drive to make changes became more apparent.

What do you enjoy about your present circumstances, and how does that affect your desire to make things better?

4. I Lack Enough Funds

Another way we keep ourselves confined is by placing our reliance on things other than ourselves, such as money, credentials, and abilities. Internal qualities such as fortitude, focus, clarity, and enthusiasm may lead to better success in the outer world.I wasn't using my external resources well since I had used up all of my internal ones. I felt depleted on the inside, as well as seeing my resources deplete. This resulted in a vicious loop.

What about the outside world depletes the source of inspiration, support, and life in your house? Do you effectively use the tools at your disposal?

Related: When Something You Once Loved No Longer Excite You

5. No Reversing Now

You risk missing out on the beautiful trip that is taking place in front of your eyes if you are too focused on the deadline by which you are expected to have accomplished X, Y, and Z. Who, after all, set this deadline by which you must comply?

Observing others get married, have kids, and purchase houses did little except keep me trapped in my predicament. I understood that the reason I was so frustrated was because I was fumbling about in the dark, uncertain of what to do. I felt as if I was wasting my time since neither I nor my friends desired what we already had.

Do you set a deadline for yourself to complete tasks X, Y, and Z? How do you determine your value? What areas of your life do you want to alter the most, and how can you start doing that right now?

6. My Schedule is Too Full

It's likely that your "responsibilities" have turned into a justification for not taking care of yourself if you feel as if you have so many obligations that you lack the time to begin improving your life.

I felt empty and lost because I was bearing the emotional burden of everyone else. I wasn't taking care of my personal needs or managing my life.

If anything, what prevents you from appreciating life? Do these individuals and events have any influence on you? How can you first begin to control your life?

Related: Easy Ways to Have an Extraordinary Life Instead of Autopilot

7. I Don't Know Who I Am

If you can't place yourself, it's likely that you haven't lately taken the time to get to know yourself.

I didn't really take the time to consider who I am or what I want out of life until I eventually paused and asked myself why I felt trapped. 

Instead, I had just been switching things around in the hopes that one would stay.

What do you see for the future of yourself? What are your goals for the next six months? A year? What values do you uphold, and what are your objectives?

8. I'm Not Sure Where to Start

According to your viewpoint, not knowing where to begin may be both freeing and scary. However, this is often only an alibi. If there isn't a specific place to start, any site will suffice.

I developed a routine and began to routinely go alone to think about life and restore my identity. I experimented a lot until I knew what I truly wanted, and then I came up with a plan to obtain it.

It makes no difference where you start. Do you promise to set aside some time each day to reflect on these restrictive beliefs? All you have to do to make great changes in your life is "smile, breathe, and go slowly."

Originally published at https://theenlightenmentjourney.com on May 27, 2023.

Amazing Self-Improvement Programs here

If you enjoy reading this article, please don’t forget to show your support by following my blog:

 

The link above will take you to another safe website.

Thanks! :-)

successself helphow tohappinessgoalsadvice
Like

About the Creator

The Enlightenment Journey

All About Spirituality, Metaphysics, and Self-Help Articles

More at:

https://theenlightenmentjourney.com

https://twitter.com/TheEnlightenm12

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.