Motivation logo

My Top 6 Worship Songs

My Spirit's playlist

By Maelyn JeffersPublished 10 months ago 5 min read
Like
My Top 6 Worship Songs
Photo by Edward Cisneros on Unsplash

Six Worship songs that have helped me during a hard season

Jireh by Elevation Worship & Maverick City – This was the first worship song that I ever downloaded on my phone. I was sitting down watching Steven Furtick, a pastor at Elevation Church and the choir was performing this song called Jireh for the first time. I sat on the couch with my coffee in my hand, heart heavy, and immediately was taken aback by two of the performers Chandler and Naomi. I began to feel a presence over me as I heard “I’m already loved, I’m already chosen” At this point, I was going through a really hard time, so to feel loved by a presence higher than me was overwhelming, but something shifted in me. I decided that I was going to make worship music the special time that I connect with God the most because that was where my new bond was made. Another part of the song that stuck with me was “I will be content in every circumstance”. Once you put your trust and faith in God no circumstance can tear down the shield that is already built for you. Hold on tighter if you must but don’t give up is something that always stuck with me since then.

Wait On You by Dante Bowe, Chandler Moore, Elevation Worship, and Maverick City- I’ve played this song so much that my daughter knows all the words from beginning to end and the song is 10mins long. My spirit has been connected to this song through so many dark times in my life since first hearing it. This song really made me believe in all that God’s Grace can do, I’ve cried to this song, and I’ve felt rejoice with this song. When I first heard this song, I was going through a separation, losing myself, issues at work, Covid, etc. I remember laying on my closet floor with the lights off and crying to this song I was hurting but I believed in every word.” They that wait on the Lord Shall renew their strength They shall mount up, up on wings like an eagle, and They soar They shall walk, and not get weary They shall run, and not faint, that’s what happens when you wait”. Honestly, this song taught me patience in my faith, and to trust God’s timing.

Cycles by Jonathan McReynolds- I first heard this song with one of my best friends at a Maverick City and Kirk Franklin concert. We hummed and sang these lyrics even after Jonathan was done performing the song. We repeated the song over and over on the way home after. This song was the definition of where I felt like my life was at, I felt like no matter how hard I tried to escape it I couldn’t get out of the same cycle. I was repeating one of my biggest cycles at the time and that was moving after a difficult situation happened in my life. This concert was 2 days before I moved to start a new chapter in my life. The lyrics that stuck with me were “This will end like I want it to I win”. These words gave me hope, it made me feel like with God by my side I can get through anything and win the battle whether it’s a financial battle, or an emotional battle, for myself. This song helped me identify different cycles in my life and the ones I wanted to break, it made me feel like I had a choice, that just because it happened in the past or I was paying the debts of someone else I could break the cycle starting that very moment.

Praise Is What I Do by William Murphy- I’ve been singing this song since I was in 7th grade. My sister and I performed this song with our school choir at Livingston Jr High and at that age, I never realized just how powerful these lyrics were. When I started listening to worship music more I added this song and related to the lyrics on a faith-based level rather than it just being words for me to sing back then. When I listen to this song it helps me stay focused. God deserves praise through any season good or bad, Jesus deserves praise no matter the season. I’ve sung this song during my hardest seasons with truth in every word because I believe and know that God is worthy of every single praise. “No, my circumstance doesn't even stand a chance My praise outweighs the bad”. Every time I sing these lyrics I feel something in my spirit because it’s true you don’t stop praising God when things have gone right you praise through the storm because you know in your heart God will meet you on the other side and for that he deserves infinite praise.

Firm Foundation by Maverick City- The anthem of my hard seasons would have to be this song, this song helped me to understand your faith must be built on something. Yes, you know things are going to get better but who are you putting your faith in? I’ve put my faith in Jesus, my daughter sings this song from beginning to end as well. When you think about something that is firm you think of that can withstand a lot of weight, damage, or pressure. Putting your faith in Jesus’s foundation is something that I now know is the only way. I’ve cried singing these lyrics, but they are so powerful “Rain came, wind blew But my house was built on You I'm safe with You I'm gonna make it through Rain came, wind blew But my house was built on You I'm safe with You I'm gonna make it through”. No matter what season I have been through I’ve come out stronger because I believe in my foundation.

Million Little Miracles by Maverick City – This song helped me understand gratitude on a whole different level. It helped me understand how God’s presence and favor are in our everyday lives whether we feel it or not. Whether you see it or not, there’s always a miracle if you change your perspective. “You held me steady so I wouldn't give up You opened doors that nobody could shut I hope I never get over what You've done”. When I hear this part at the end of the song my spirit, mind, and perspective resets “I got breath in my lungs II got clothes on my back, I got food on my table, Lord, I know that You're able”

There are many other songs that I’ve come across that have also spoken to me but these songs I hold close to my heart always.

happinessself helphealing
Like

About the Creator

Maelyn Jeffers

Throughout my life, I have been through a lot of pain, and I want to share my stories because as bad as it was I survived. I AM A SURVIVOR!!!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.