Motivation logo

My Story: Bullying

Self love is key.

By Rose VPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
1
After every storm, the sun will smile. 

Through the years of elementary school, I thought I had it all; family, friends, a good education, chocolate? I felt like I had the world. There was nothing but me and my loved ones in a society with nothing but love and freedom. Then I stepped into middle school. It was a disaster. It was... terrifying.

When you’re about eleven, you don’t really care about your appearance or weight because it doesn't really have an impact on your life. Not until middle school came along. I was getting bullied by a fellow classmate from my elementary school. I got bullied about my appearance. All I could remember and think about was “Why me?” I thought I was perfectly fine the way I was. I thought it was okay to be different. I thought it was okay to be me. All I could think about was how I can look better. Sooner than later, I realized I was wrong.

Bullies only hurt you because they can’t pick on themselves. Growing up I’ve heard, “bullies are caused by jealousy,” and I certainly do agree. I’m not trying to say that if you get bullied then you’re doing something right. I’m saying, you have done nothing wrong. You are perfect the way you are. You don’t need anyone to tell you about yourself, but you. You are the most influential person in your life and you are the only one who should be.

My parents and friends always try to cheer me up when I was/am down. They made me realize, I don’t need someone to criticize me. I don’t need someone telling me to change myself. Why should I have to change myself for someone else? Why should I have to listen to someone else's controlling and impolite words? It’s my body. It’s my face. It’s my clothes. It’s me.

This incident made me lose so much confidence and love over myself. I mentally detach myself from my innocent mind and grew to learn about the other side of the world. The evil side you might say? I believe that everyone and everything has their evil side but we can’t blame them. We’re all human. We're bound to show our emotion somehow, whether it’s showing emotion with love and care of showing it with hatred and frustration.

It’s terrifying to see how much someone else’s words and actions can bring you to a low point of your life. No one should have the power to do that. You shouldn’t let anyone do that, the same way I did but hey, you can’t blame me. I was a kid living in her own world who unfortunately had to experience a little bullying to mature my mind. Once again, I’m slightly thankful I get to learn things on a day to day basis, whether it’s disheartening or very light to handle. Every issue I face slowly shapes me into a better human being. I’m thankful to have this life because I know someone somewhere is going through something worse and I shouldn’t take this life that God gave me for granted. Your issues should matter just as much as someone else’s issue. We’re all equal and everyone deserves to be treated with an equal amount of love.

You deserve love and care especially, from yourself. Everyone comes in different shapes and sizes, something I learnt the hard way. I wouldn't say I regret going through that experience. Everything happens for a reason. Things may be upside down but I have the power to turn it around

Just remember, it is perfectly fine to be different. Being different is unique. I am unique. I am me.

healing
1

About the Creator

Rose V

A small kid in a big world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.