Motivation logo

My Passion: LIFE

Finding Joy in Life

By Sara JamesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
My Passion: LIFE
Photo by George Pagan III on Unsplash

To be perfectly honest I have not been a member long enough to have a wide scoping range of followers. I have added a story here and there but I am sure I have not been using my membership to its full capacity. I guess, in truth, I have lacked inspiration. My passions have been kicked to the curb for a season. I have been struggling with the stigma tied to a mental illness. Bipolar to be exact. I have wrestled with my own demons. I have felt so buried by my own head space, one that screams at me and beats me to a bloody pulp. I am by nature a very passionate person. An extremist might be a fitting word and considering that is the definition of bipolar I suppose it fits well. I have been on that pendulum for the last 11 yrs. swinging from one extreme to another like a monkey at the zoo. Trapped behind the bars of my mind, holding the rope for dear life and swinging back and forth. It has made me quite sick at times(both physically and mentally).

All that to say this: My passion is LIFE!

I know that is quite a broad term but when you face the thoughts of death and the ideals of giving up completely then it is quite a perfect answer. I have tried suicide. I have been careless and been done with life all together. I have fought the good fight but also a few bad ones. I have run full force into walls and been knocked out by the 2 x 4’s of life. I fought the bitterness that wells up in my throat at times trying to choke me. I have fought the fears that make me want to run and hide yet left me feeling naked and exposed with nowhere to go. I have fought the lies that have screamed in my face that I am worthless and garbage. I have fought the ugly person I have been at times and the shame and despair it has brought me. I have fought the feelings of anger and hatred. I have fought and fought and fought and given up and surrendered and buried my face in the sand and cried and just been done….

But that is NOT the end of the story. I am still here on this earth therefore there is still room to explore healthy passions. To embrace life with vigor and the purest and most beautiful gift: LOVE. Love is NOT dead. Peace is not a phantom that cannot be reached. War is NOT the ONLY answer. The fight is real but the victory is ALSO real. I love a great many things. I love family and friends United in peace. I love a good, hearty bear hug when I feel like no one cares. I love the look in our precious fur babies faces and their humorous escapades. I love a good book by the fireplace on a cool, crisp fall day. I love a cup of peppermint tea or a chai latte…anyways I could muse on about the things I love(and also the things I don’t) but that’s not the full point.

The POINT is: Life is Precious. It is dramatic and melancholic at times. There is humor as well as sadness. There is Weeping and sometimes sobs that rack your body to convulsions…but the TRUTH is there is ALSO…

JOY! Joy that surpasses all the hardships, all the pain and ALL THE NEGATIVE.

THE POSITIVE TRUTH IS:

“Weeping may last the night BUT Joy comes in the morning…”

Seasons come and go. Life travels at the speed of light. Passions ignite and fade but joy, deep joy that resides in the heart with burn a fire that will captivate the world.

LOVE ALWAYS WINS. PERIOD.

happiness
1

About the Creator

Sara James

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.