Motivation logo

MY LITERARY BIOGRAPHY

Learning to Write

By Marciano GuerreroPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Columbia University

As I entered the Public Library in Lima, Peru, I was but a kid of thirteen years of age. I couldn’t help but feel a wave of excitement wash over my entire mind and body. I knew the potential that surrounded me, and I wanted to take it all in.

As I curiously gazed around, I noticed an abandoned book sitting on a table, The Adventures of Tom Sawyer.

Even though I hadn’t heard of the book before, I opened it anyway. I took in the words almost as if I was under a spell, captivated by the characters and their stories. I read it from start to finish. When I was done, I knew I wanted to be a writer.

From that day on, I imitated Mark Twain; I wrote whenever and wherever I could. I wrote on the bus, in my room, and even at my high school (militarized Colegio Guadalupe), where machismo prevailed and writers and poets were unwelcome. Nothing could stop me; I was determined to become the next Mark Twain.

So, when at 16, I came to study at Columbia University; I kept writing, taking on all the never-ending challenges that came with it. I wrote countless stories, poems, and countless other things, always striving to make my work better.

A particular episode with Professor Morton Smith, a renowned scholar and professor of ancient history, remains indelibly in my mind. When I handed in one the assigned essays, Professor Smith wrote in red letters, “not bad, but you could do better. Focus on the topic assigned and do not go on tangents. A-” Here I was in my freshman year and writing in a second language that I was just beginning to immerse myself in. Yet, most of my fellow students got lower grades. The rumor was that the Dean had passed a memo to the undergraduate faculty that grade inflation was a problem at Columbia. The solution to the problem was for the professors to award A+, A, and A- grades to only ten percent of the class.

Here I was competing with native students and holding my own in the writing of English. Happy, if not elated, and encouraged by the A- grade I went to the library and checked out Professor Smith’s books, hoping to learn perhaps some hidden gems about writing from such a prolific author. My effort paid huge dividends because I discovered he had a peculiar way of beginning his sentences. I copied many of the examples I found and archived them in a notebook that I have kept for many years and that I labeled “Sentence Openers.”

I kept pushing, and eventually I published my first book. Now I have 124 books translated, edited, and many of my imagination. And all this in my gained language that is English.

One doesn’t have to be a brilliant popular writer like Mark Twain or a dazzling academic writer like Professor Smith. Just becoming a writer is a source of great joy, pride, and happiness.

This story is proof of the magic I found in the Public Library in Lima, Peru that prodigious day of my teen years. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer did more than just give me the courage to become a writer; it gave me the courage to pursue my dreams and keep going even when the journey seemed impossible.

God knows I have tried, but I am now living proof that we can achieve even the impossible with enough dedication and hard work.

When I became a college professor, I instilled in my students the passion for learning and the mastering of the English language. I would often admonish them, “I was born in Lima, Peru, South America. When I came to this country, the Spanish language had already shaped my mind, but with patience, dedication, and effort I learned to write English. If I can do it. You too can.”

Find my books below click here or in this link too.

My articles are first written by Writesonic (AI) and then I edit them. Of all the AI software out there, Writesonic is the best and most economic.

https://writesonic.com?via=marciano89

successself helphappinessgoalsadvice
Like

About the Creator

Marciano Guerrero

Marciano Guerrero is a Columbia University graduate, retired business executive, retired college professor, and a disabled Vietnam Veteran. I enjoy writing fiction, and essays of human interest. I also have a keen interest in AI.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.