Motivation logo

My Goals For A New Year: Welcome 2021

(and a FREE self-care calendar)

By SejalPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
My Goals For A New Year: Welcome 2021
Photo by Isaac Smith on Unsplash

It's a brand new year! I hope all of you are safe and excited to see how 2021 goes. I know I am!

2020 was an interesting year, with more cons than pros. But we can't dwell on the past if we're trying to better the future.

I've made New Year goals, year after year(like many of us), but I've always trailed off. Especially in 2020, but in all honesty, I forgot what my resolutions were(oops).

So this year one of my goals is to commit and stay dedicated to my passions. Blogging goals are included in this post, but I'm planning on creating a post just focused on my blogging goals.

I got 12 months to accomplish these goals, but let's identify them first, shall we?

Stick To My Goals

Yup, one of my goals is to stick to them. Because as long as I achieve this goal, I know the rest will be achievable as well. So even if I only accomplish half of these, it's better than none.

I'm going to write these down and place them somewhere where I'll see them every day. Or else I'll forget about them by February.

A constant reminder of your goals, a plan, and passion is all you need.

"No matter how you feel...Get up, dress up, show up, and never give up."

Become Stronger and Healthier

So I've talked about my fitness goals before in my pre-adult bucket list blog post. But I know I can't expect to have that big of a difference in a year(well, maybe if I try really hard). I just want to have toned arms and somewhat defined abs by the end of 2021.

Last year, I started working out, thanks to quarantine. That was a huge step for me, and I've seen improvement. I can't wait to see more changes in these upcoming months. If you have fitness on your resolutions this year, you'll enjoy these posts:

Workout Review: Lilly Sabri

Tips on keeping those pounds off this holiday season.

I plan on working out longer and set each month for a certain muscle group.

I'm planning on doing fully cardio for January, with a few ab workouts here and there. February is going to be leg month, March for booty, and so on. I will be publishing my fitness routine and plans sometime in February. So be on the watch for that!

What are your fitness goals for 2021? Dm me on Twitter, or contact me at [email protected].

Overall, I want to become stronger and healthier than I am today.

"Keep going, because you didn't come this far just to come this far."

"Don't stop when you're tired, stop when you're done."

Reach My Blogging Goals

By Anete Lūsiņa on Unsplash

I don't want to get too into this one, because I'm doing a separate blog post on it. I would link it here when I publish it, but unfortunately, I can't edit blog posts after I publish on Vocal.

(However, if you subscribe to my newsletter, you can get weekly updates.)

Here are my blogging goals shortened, and in bullet points. (In no particular order)

- Have at least 50 genuine email subscribers.

- Release 3+ digital products.

- Earn $10 from reads on Vocal

- Create my own self-hosted blog.

- Have at least 100 Twitter followers

- 1+ blog posts featured on Vocal

- Gain more traffic and engagements from Pinterest

- Have 5000 reads in total on Vocal.

For the time being these are the blogging goals I want to accomplish in 2021. Goals can always change, however, so who knows what'll happen in 2021.

2020 taught us that uncertainly is the only thing certain in life.

Finish At Least 1 Sketchbook This Year & Improve My Art

Last month, I started sketching more. I bought new Tombow Mono pencils, and I'll be doing a review on those as well. But I think drawing Christmas gifts for my family, started an art frenzy.

I also purchased a new sketchbook a few weeks ago, and I can't wait to fill up all the pages. I've never really fully finished a sketchbook, and I want to do that this year. My plan is to sketch at least every other day and to practice drawing from real life.

I'm pretty good at following YouTube tutorials, but I want to start drawing from references and real life. I can barely draw a lamp from imagination, so small steps it is.

Hopefully, by the end of this year, my art skills will improve.

But "Don't wish for it, work for it"

Here's another motivational quote:

"Don't fear failure. Fear being in the exact same place next year as you are today."

Improve My Writing

There's always room for improvement. Publishing new blog posts every week is a great way to improve my writing. I'm also in clubs like Speech and Debate and Newspaper so those will certainly help my writing skills.

I've been writing for a long time, and it's one of my most treasured abilities. Around April-May, I actually wanted to write a book, and I spent weeks researching but never got to it. I decided that a book would take too long, and wasn't ideal for me right now.

I realized that a blog would be the perfect choice. It was time-efficient and met all my demands. So here I am.

Maybe in 2022, I'll look back at this post and smile knowing that my writing skills have improved greatly.

"If you improve by 1% every day, within a year you will have improved 365%"

While this quote may not be exactly mathematically true, it's still motivational.

Read More Books This Year(about 100)

I'll admit I didn't read as much I should have this year, and I regret that. But I want to change that this year. My goal is to read 100 books by 2022, maybe even more.

Goodreads is amazing for tracking all the books I've read, especially since it integrates so well with my Kindle.

I also want to increase my reading speed and vocabulary. Reading is the best way to gain knowledge, whether it be books or articles. There isn't much to expand on this, but I will be publishing a 2021 'Want To Read' booklist, this month.

If I read any exceptional books I'll update all of you!

"Reading is an act of civilization; it’s one of the greatest acts of civilization because it takes the free raw material of the mind and builds castles of possibilities."

—Ben Okri

conclude

By Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Well, those are my resolutions for this year. 2020 was a wild ride, and I forgot my goals on the trip. But this year, I'm determined to accomplish at least half of these goals.

I want to smile on December 31st, 2021, look myself in the mirror, and proudly say, "You did it, I knew you could."

Let me know what your resolutions/goals are for 2021, on Twitter. I'm always excited to know your opinions and thoughts. Thank you for being here the past 4 months, and I can't wait to see where this journey goes.

Hopefully, it goes better than 2020 did.

But let's see, because what choice do we have than to hold on and make the best of it.

(FYI: I'm planning on publishing new blog posts every Friday this year)

. . .

If you're looking for a 30-day self-growth/care calendar this month, I got you covered.

Here's a link to a printable calendar I made.

Join my newsletter for other premium content.

You may enjoy...

- 10+ Amazing Gift Ideas For Every College Student.

- How to start that book you’ve been neglecting.

- How I run my blog, do my 7 courses, and still have time to unwind.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Sejal

Writer & Blogger | Student | Gen Z | Avid Book Reader | INFJ | (she/her)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.