Motivation logo

How I run my blog, do my 7 courses, and still have time to unwind.

Blogmas Day 7 | Productivity

By SejalPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
How I run my blog, do my 7 courses, and still have time to unwind.
Photo by Dylan Ferreira on Unsplash

Time.

What a mystical concept.

Some have too much, others barely enough.

I for one, am barely adapting to the heap of work given to me, these past few weeks.

But with a few adjustments, I’ve been able to stay afloat(at the moment).

How?

Well, we’re on the topic of saving time, so let’s get right into it.

1. Get out of bed when you want to.

I’ve tried waking up at 5, then 6, then 7, and finally 8. If you’re not a morning person, chances are the routine won’t stick.

So forget about it, and wake up on your time.

Waking up at a certain time because someone else said too, isn't a good way to start your day off.

You make that choice. Yes, change needs adjusting, but what if you’re already comfortable?

If you want to wake up at 5 and be really productive. Go ahead. Because you want to rise before the sun, and start your day.

You may be thinking. “But I just end up staying in bed till 12.”

And here’s the solution: Discipline.

As Lou Holtz said,

“Without self-discipline, success is impossible, period.”

And yes, I did say get up when you want.

Self-discipline is a choice, however. So, you decide if you want to start your day at noon? If you’re going to delay everything.

If you’re going to get adequate sleep because that assignment can wait. If you’re going to give yourself that much-needed relaxation time.

I know I’m giving mixed signals here, but again it’s all about self-discipline.

What is the best choice for you?

Set designated break times

This is very important, especially since most of us are working from home. We either work too much or too little.

To fix that, tell yourself that after you finish these 2–3 tasks, you’ll take a small 10-minute break. And I recommended not going on your phone, because you probably won’t start working again.

Instead, taking a bathroom break, fill up your water, have a quick snack, walk around, do a few pushups or squats, etc.

Time-Passers

I personally just lay on my bed and stare at my ceiling. And that wastes a lot of time.

Plus, I usually zone out in the middle of my task. And I don’t usually realize how much time passed.

By Paula Guerreiro on Unsplash

A key to fixing all these “time-passers” is to identify them. If you don’t why you’ve been working for so long, but still aren’t finished. Find out.

In the event you find yourself zoning out or dying of boredom; get up, splash your face with water, and stretch.

But don’t give up, and go do something else.

If you won’t be strict with yourself, who will?

Don’t try to do everything

You’ll end up accomplishing nothing.

I understand that giddy feeling, you have in the morning.

“Oh, I can’t wait to start my day, I’m going to be so productive! First I’ll complete this and this, then I’ll do that.”

But soon enough, you burn out. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with hyping yourself up and having a positive mindset.

Just set clear goals. Write down 3–4 main tasks you need to get done, and then add some “afterthought” tasks.

When you finish those 3 tasks and still feel productive, go ahead and do the rest.

On the other hand, however, if you feel exhausted by then, you can be content knowing you finished your quota for the day.

After that, go ahead and reward yourself. It isn’t easy being on task. Watch an episode or two, make some popcorn, and relax.

Conclude

By now, you hopefully have a few new tips to try out. Perhaps time can be on your side from now on.

Let me know how it went and if you have any other productivity tips, on my Twitter.

Thank you, and share the article if you enjoyed it!

Disclaimer:

The original was posted on a different platform.

success
Like

About the Creator

Sejal

Writer & Blogger | Student | Gen Z | Avid Book Reader | INFJ | (she/her)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.