Motivation logo

My Friend, Fear

How a Recurring Dream Turned My Fears into My Greatest Accomplishments

By Marishka HaylanPublished 6 years ago 6 min read
Like

I had this problem my whole life, until two years ago.

I accepted less, I didn't go for it. I put off school, I put off pretty much anything that would help me advance my life or better myself in some way.

I told myself I wasn't good enough, I let my fear of failing to stop me from even attempting.

I had no license, no car, a shit job. I was a single mom, sick of living off of child support. I felt helpless, I felt trapped.

I began having this recurring dream.

In the dream, I am leaving my old church. It is dusk. I wonder why I was there so late. A group perhaps?

I am thinner, my hair is longer, which tells me some time has passed.

I reach into my pocket to grab my keys to my white SUV. I unlock it and get in. I drive, down Market Street looking at the gorgeous homes.

I pull to the stop sign in town, and I feel this inner peace. I feel this sense of glee. I can tell I am not going home to an empty house.

Have I found someone?

Is he handsome?

Then, I wake up.

My dreams were trying to tell me something.

It took me an entire month, but I finally took my permit test.

I failed.

I felt discouraged, depressed.

I went home that night, and I had this dream.

The same one. It started at the church, white SUV, dusk, driving. This time, I pull to the stop sign, and I proceed forward, onto the street where my dad lives. I feel I am going in the right direction, as in my dream, I feel I know this is where my home is.

I pull up the hill, into the driveway of a brick house. I click the garage opener.

Then I wake up.

I go back a week later, I take the test again. This time, I came prepared, I studied with the app the DMV employee told me about.

I pass!

Then, I begin practice driving.

We start small at first. I haven't driven in years. My friend, Tyler, helps me. We go to an empty parking lot near his flat.

We go around so I can get a feel for the car. We go onto one of the side roads, and I adjust well. I am not terrified. He is patient, a good teacher.

We do this each day, a different level of the road. Until eventually, by the end of summer, I am comfortable with the roads and the car enough to take my license test.

I go to take my license test, I execute everything perfectly. I pass!

I walk out with my license all shiny and new.

Several weeks later, I get a call from the bank where I had applied for a teller position. They want me to come in for an interview. I say yes!

I go to the interview, I am nervous, I don't get my hopes up because there is a strong possibility, due to my credit, I won't be offered this position.

The manager says he will let me know.

In the meantime, I continue working next door, and pay off my debts as I can.

It takes nearly three weeks, a couple of callbacks and a lot of patience. When one day, while I am laying down, after an exhausting afternoon of parenting, my phone rings.

"Hello?" I answer, tiredly.

"Miss Haylan, it's Frank from [redacted] bank. I came across your resume on my desk, and I was wondering if you'd be able to come in for an interview?" A smile blooms across my face, the local bank near my house had posted an ad for a teller in the weekly shopper. I replied by dropping my resume directly in the mailbox which, my favorite teller, who was also a single mom, did me a solid & had slipped it on the bosses desk.

"Sure. I am free Monday, would there be a better time for you?"

We schedule it for 11 AM prompt. I call my friend, Tyler. I am so excited! He is excited for me!

I show up at 10:45. The interview is only five questions.

He says he will let me know by Monday.

I exit my interview and see I have a missed call.

I check it, along with a voicemail. The credit union had called. I call them back, they offer me the job!

The next day after my shift at the salon, I go to the credit union, we talk money and I get a letter for my landlord so he knows I'm switching jobs.

They offer me $14 per hour!

Tuesday comes around, I assume the local bank didn't want me.

Tyler and I go out to celebrate my newfound victory.

It's noon and we go for lunch. I excuse myself to the restroom.

Mid-pee, my phone rings, I answer because I don't recognize the number but see its local.

"Miss Haylan, this is Frank from the Bank. I wanted to let you know, we want to offer you the job. What time can you come in to discuss salary requirements?"

Tyler gets way too drunk, and by 9 PM we aren't friends anymore. Because Tyler says he loves me, and I don't love him back.

And I cry, because he's my only friend.

Tuesday rolls around and I am sitting in Frank's office.

Frank offers me $12 per hour.

I counter with the letter from the credit union. (Yeah, I do that now.)

He offers me $14.00.

I accept it.

Winter rolls around. I go with my dad because my jalopy car isn't going to cut it for snow safety.

My credit has gone up a lot. All those payments to delete letters to fix my credit really did well. I am approved for over what I expected to be approved for.

I look over on the lot and see a shiny, white Nissan SUV. Just like the one from my dream. We go over, and my dad and I look it over. I take it for a test drive.

"I'll take that one," I say to the salesman. He is a retired veteran, with dark hair and dark eyes.

That same salesman texts me to make sure my vehicle is running well for me.

Two months pass and regular check-ins about my vehicle & late night text conversations turn into coffee, coffee turns into dinners. Dinners turn into dinners and a movie, and one night, he randomly shows up at my door, with flowers and a smile.

He asks me to be his girlfriend.

I realize I have never been to his place.

He chuckles "I live right around the corner from you."

Next time, I go to his place.

A red brick ranch, just around the bend from mine.

And when you exit the driveway, you pass my father's house, and the elementary school where my kids go, and I arrive at my favorite church where I go every Wednesday night for women's group. I make friends there.

And the summer comes, I leave at dusk, my hair has grown to my chest and I get into my white SUV, and drive past the beautiful houses on south market, turn past the bank where I have been promoted to lead teller, past my dad's house and pull into the garage, I am sorry, OUR garage. Because Brad always corrects me, it isn't his, it's OURS. He built the kids a swing in the backyard.

And when I walk into the door, a beautiful, dark-haired, retired marine who sells cars smiles like it's the first time he's seen me and says "Hey babe. How was the group?"

And I kiss him.

And I cry because I am overwhelmed with blessings.

And all I had to do was believe in myself, and keep trying until it stuck.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Marishka Haylan

Cat mom, human mom, hapa girl living in her own fun, slightly insane, little world. Always overcaffinated & fashionably late.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.