Motivation logo

My Favorite Pair of Shoes

Advice for a Perfect Day

By PrimrosePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
My Favorite Pair of Shoes
Photo by Madison Oren on Unsplash

It was a random Saturday in April 2021, and the weather was absolutely lovely. I can't even remember the specific date, but I will always think of it as one of the best days of my life. It didn't start out that way; as a fourteen-year-old, I woke in a grumpy mood, though I can't imagine why. I assume I had waffles for breakfast, as I usually do on Saturday mornings.

I had recently gotten a skateboard, and my dad wanted to take me back to the store to get new wheels for it. (The ones that came with it were too hard, and made it nearly impossible to learn to skateboard on the rough terrain of my neighborhood.) Now I appreciated that my Dad wanted to do this for me as I had no other plans for the day. However, I wasn't excited about the project until after the new wheels were installed, and I was actually able to practice riding my board.

The feeling was absolutely amazing, and it was as if I was flying down the street. The words: I was actually doing it!! kept circling through my head. Now eventually the moment's excitement had to come to an end; my mom mentioned that she had to go shopping and it was time to go. I'm not sure where we went, but the only place I can remember at the moment is Kohl's. My dad said that she should get me some skateboarding shoes and that we should pick up a pair for him as well.

And now to my point- I got a pair of light blue checkered Vans, nothing too exciting, but I was so happy to have them! I felt so cool that I wore them on a short skateboard ride the second I got home. That evening, my mom made a delicious supper (puttanesca), and we watched my favorite movie, Dirty Dancing.

I love the shoes, and I appreciate them even more as they continue to get dirty and stained. But the real point of this story is to encourage readers never to lose hope for a day. Of course, this story took place on a Saturday, so it may have turned out differently than another day would have. That being said, there is always an opportunity for a Thursday, or even a Monday to be the greatest day of your life. Though the morning may start slowly, and you may just want to stay in bed for the rest of the day, try to remember that this could be a great day. Also, remember the small things. This wasn't my birthday or a special holiday, but it was beautiful, and it was perfect because I was with the people I loved and tried new experiences that made me happy.

Now for my younger readers out there, having a good day doesn't even need to cost money! It wasn't buying the shoes or the skateboard wheels that made me so happy. It was getting to treasure the wonderful moments I spent with my parents, and trying that new experience. When you can change your mindset to look around and appreciate everything around you, you will find that maybe your situation isn't as glum as it seems.

Of course, there are some exceptions to this story. You won't always be able to make a bland day into a perfect one. The day mentioned in the story wasn't even bad, but it went from so-so to awesome. When you're going through a rough time, remember that it gets better! It may sound cliche to tell you to just look at the positives, but really, sometimes that's the best way to turn a poor situation around!

Thank you for reading!

self help
Like

About the Creator

Primrose

I have always enjoyed writing, and I'm thrilled to be able to use this platform to get my voice heard and explore my creativity! Thank you for viewing my page!! I hope you enjoy.

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/primrose.writer/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.