Motivation logo

Must We All Be Extroverts?

Celebrating Introverts, The Unsung Heroes Of Quiet Strenght.

By Benedette UchePublished 6 months ago 3 min read
1
Must We All Be Extroverts?
Photo by Alexandru Zdrobău on Unsplash

I used to be regarded as the odd one. The shy, quiet and solitary one.

I grew up in a large family of five siblings. And I used to wonder why I felt different from them: I did not enjoy their kind of joke, I did not eat the same quantity of food or rush my food like everyone else, and I preferred to be home alone reading novels when everyone has gone out to visit friends. I didn't have many friends but the one I had understood me and we were cool with each other. I had a different worldview altogether from the rest of my siblings. But it all became clear when I read about temperaments and personality types. I started to feel special.

Who Are The Extroverts?

These are outgoing, enthusiastic, and energetic people. They can also be described as sociable, assertive, talkative, confident, optimistic, and the life of the party. They always seek opportunities to lead or be in charge. They enjoy having many friends, trying new things, and expressing their opinions and may be perceived as attention-seeking or arrogant.

Introverts And The Power Of Introspection

There is a reason for the diversity of personality. We must not all be extroverts. In a world where introverts are seen as anti-social, reclusive, anomaly, and a quiet minority in the sea of boisterous extroverts; the truth is that they find their strength in solitude and the depths of their reflections. They are usually very creative people and they need space to explore their thoughts, emotions and ideas without distractions. Introverts need to be alone to recharge just as extroverts feel recharged when they are interacting with other people.

Society may seem to prefer extroversion but you can thrive in your own right by understanding your strengths and leveraging your qualities as an introvert.

1. Be alone when you feel like it. Do not let others pressure you to join the crowd just to please them. Your alone time is when you recharge and rejuvenate your energy.

2. Express yourself when necessary. I have discovered on several occasions that when I talk, people are impressed like: 'We didn't know you can talk like that.' I always tell them: 'Well, I can talk but I talk when necessary.' Introverts are usually deep thinkers. They don't just talk, they talk to make sense.

3. Your introverted traits are valuable assets and not weaknesses. For instance, you can listen deeply and think critically and creatively to solve problems, and these are required skills in any field of endeavour.

4. Self-control is a virtue. The ability to control yourself in terms of anger, what to eat or drink, what to say, where to go, and whom to relate with. The lack of self-control has put many in trouble but that trouble may be averted when you take your time to reflect and decide as an introvert.

5. Being alone does not mean you are lonely. People sometimes ask me: 'How can you just stay alone all weekend? Don't you feel bored and lonely?' I tell them that I don't. I enjoy it because that is when I read, write, go for a walk, or sleep. You can be with friends and family but when you're alone, you enjoy that burst of energy with mindful reflections and thoughtful insights.

So, embrace your quiet power and unique qualities as an introvert. Do not let anyone make you feel less than who you are: the mindful one with the ability to observe, analyse, and proffer solutions from a quiet perspective. You are not anti-social or a recluse. You are the balance to the extroverts and a valuable member of society whose contributions should be appreciated.

adviceself helphappiness
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test5 months ago

    This article impresses me; it's well-written and full of valuable information.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.