Motivation logo

Mommy's Birthday Break

I am booking an Air BnB and going out for my birthday this weekend! Tips if you want to buy this mama a shot! Mommy is taking a break, turning up and having some me time.

By The Darkest SunrisePublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
Mommy's Birthday Break
Photo by LOGAN WEAVER | @LGNWVR on Unsplash

It seems that after we spend nine months carrying tiny versions of ourselves only to lose our identities to this one role. Motherhood. For me, at least, I have lost myself in motherhood. Every single day I wake up and do the exact same thing. I get my daughter ready to go to my grandmother's house a handful of days out of the week so that I can go to work. The days my daughter is home with me our mornings are busy with breakfast, learning some new ASL signs, and watching Song For Littles. (Rachel is a huge celeb in our household). This, followed by many attempts to study, complete assignments, and submit projects on time. I love our life together. Being my daughter's mother is my very favorite part of life. Raising a one year old has been so much fun. The not so dope part about it is, sometimes I feel like it is all that I do.

We spend so much time making sure our babies have everything that we need. Sometimes it becomes hard to recognize what we ourselves need. I have spent over a year taking care of my daughter. As a single mother, this year has shown me challenges alongside magnificent milestones that my daughter and I have experienced together. I have been through a lot to say the least but the most exciting part is that next weekend is my birthday and I am going to be getting a break!

A Staycation

By Kelsey Chance on Unsplash

While going out of state may be someone's ideal vacation, not all of us can afford to take extravagant vacations annually or even every other year for that matter. I am, however, super excited that for my birthday I am booking an Air BnB five minutes from my house. For one entire weekend my mother is watching my daughter so that I can have a weekend of fun and relaxation. A few of my girls and I are going to pre-game at the Bnb and then my weekend begins! It absolutely will not hurt to be able to come back to a bed that I will not have to share with a child for two whole nights! Cheers to 26!

Bonding

By Simon Maage on Unsplash

Next weekend will be an opportuinity for me to bond with my friends again. Being a mother, my only priority is my daughter. My downfall is that I have made her my priority and forgot how to maintain relationships with people. Motherhood is a busy job. I can take accountability for the miscommunications and distance I have created by ignoring the nourishment of other important relationships in my life. This weekend will be a chance to go out and have fun with co-workers, new friends, friends, from childhood, and family. Reconstructing friendships on a night out is what I've needed for such a long time. I've made sure to only invite the people that I know will make it. The ones who actually support me. The people who aren't just coming because there will be booze.

Drinks

By Michael Discenza on Unsplash

This weekend will be such a blast. Spending the weekend bar hopping with my friends only to return to an apartment where I can sleep by myself sounds like the highlight of my year. I used to go out every weekend with my friends and have drinks and be young and stupid. While that is not a lifestyle I would like to live anymore, a once a year occurrence sounds like a delicious indulgence into being a human and having fun again! I am beyond excited!

Meeting Someone New

By Travis Grossen on Unsplash

We all know how hard it is to find the time for relationships or meeting up with potential suitors when you're a single mom. I live with my mother and my daughter, neither of which I feel it neccesary for any man to be around if he his not for sure the man for me. I'm taking things super seriously when it comes to meeting any of my family. I have rush so much in the past. The next relationship will be right. But next weekend I want to have FUN!!!

There is this guy I have been having conversations with from the Facebook Dating App. We haven't met but have been trying to make plans to meet so I invited him out for my birthday. I figured what a perfect way to meet him in a controlled space surrounded by my friends and if he isn't weird or I like him enough her could hang out with us at the BnB too. I'm loving the set up of this weekend because I can get to know him without bringing him around my daughter. I can't wait to see where things go but I am honestly just looking forward to having a good night and regardless of if he comes or not I am going to be FLIRTING because I belong to no one and I love a good option.

This weekend is going to be one to remember. Birthdays are going to start becoming traditions again. I am so excited to be able to get out for the weekend and have some me time with my friends. Tips are so welcome! They will going toward shots!

social mediasuccessself helphealinghappinessgoalsadvice
Like

About the Creator

The Darkest Sunrise

Hello beautiful souls! Open book vibes over here!

Check out my podcast where you can learn to become your best self! <3

https://open.spotify.com/show/5cwcBivrINaGKqRLtBaGOx?si=kJMHUF_yQj2epM84RYSi_Q

Have the best day and drink your water! <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.