Motivation logo

Life is a journey

Passing Ships changed my perspective, values, and decisions

By Designers GangPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Life is a journey
Photo by Walter Martin on Unsplash

Life is a journey, and along the way, we encounter people, places, and experiences that shape who we are and who we become. Sometimes these encounters are fleeting, like passing ships in the night, but they can have a lasting impact on our lives.

For me, one of those passing ships came in the form of an older man I met in a park one day. At the time, I was feeling unfulfilled and restless in my first job out of college. I wasn't sure what I wanted to do with my life and felt like I was just going through the motions.

By Chris Pagan on Unsplash

But a chance encounter with a stranger in the park changed everything for me.

As I was walking during my lunch break, I saw an older man sitting on a bench, reading a book. He seemed completely engrossed in his reading, and I couldn't help but wonder what he was reading and why he seemed so content. After a few minutes, he looked up and caught me staring. I quickly looked away, embarrassed that I had been caught.

But then he surprised me by calling out to me. "Excuse me, young lady," he said, "do you have a moment to chat?"

By Shalom de León on Unsplash

I was taken aback but decided to indulge him. We started talking, and he asked me about my job and my life. I opened up to him about how I was feeling unfulfilled and unsure of my direction in life.

He listened intently and then shared his own story with me. He had been a successful businessman but had felt unfulfilled in his career as well. So he had decided to retire early and pursue his passion for painting. He had just published a book of his paintings and was on his way to a book signing.

As he spoke, I could see the joy and fulfillment in his eyes. It was like a light bulb went off in my head. I realized that life was too short to be doing something that didn't bring me happiness.

By Ryan Jacobson on Unsplash

After our conversation, I went back to work with a newfound sense of purpose. I started thinking about what I really wanted to do with my life and what would make me happy. I started exploring different career paths and eventually landed on a job in the nonprofit sector, where I could make a difference in the world.

That conversation with the older man in the park may have seemed small and insignificant, but it changed the course of my life. It gave me the courage to pursue my passions and find fulfillment in my career.

Reflecting on that moment, I realized that it wasn't just about finding a fulfilling career. It was also about living life on my own terms and not being afraid to take risks. The older man had taken a risk by retiring early and pursuing his passion for painting, and it had paid off for him.

By Clark Tibbs on Unsplash

Since then, I've tried to live my life with that same sense of fearlessness. I've taken risks and pursued my passions, even when it meant stepping out of my comfort zone. It hasn't always been easy, but it has always been worth it.

That passing ship in the park taught me a valuable lesson about the importance of being true to yourself and pursuing your passions. It taught me that life is too short to be doing something that doesn't bring you joy, and that it's never too late to make a change.

Looking back, I'm grateful for that small moment in my life that ended up having such a big impact. It's a reminder that sometimes the most unexpected encounters can change the course of our lives, and that we should always be open to new experiences and opportunities.

The encounter with the older man in the park not only changed my perspective on my career but also on life in general. It made me realize that every moment is precious and should be spent doing things that bring us joy

successself helpquoteshappinessgoals
1

About the Creator

Designers Gang

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.