Motivation logo

Inspired By Cruelty, Thoughtlessness, And Dishonesty

Inspiration doesn’t always come from the joys of life. It sometimes comes from cruelty, sadness, and pain.

By Annelise Lords Published 12 months ago 3 min read
Like
Image by Annelise Lords

I am inspired by life and the cruelty of a woman who gave me the gift of life, yet couldn't love me. Animals love and care for their young. Many humans have a huge problem with this emotion.

I must wonder sometimes, "are many of these animals more human than us? How could a bear, wolf, dog, cat, tiger, lioness ect. find love in their heart for her young? Yet humans who pride themseleves to be the smartest of speices, have problems loving the children they bring into the world."

As a child growing up, I was the only child of six children who didn’t eat white rice. Most days that were all my mother could afford to give us to eat with some meat. The meat was often called the ‘watchman,’ because it was so small, hiding somewhere among a plateful of white rice.

Rice was also cheaper.

There were other foods I didn’t eat. Since we were poor I could eat what was provided that she could afford, or go hungry.

I was stubborn from brith.

I endured a lot of hunger for my stubborness.

My mother didn’t care.

More than thirty years later, I can hold my hunger like a well holds water.

Thanks to my mother’s cruelty, poverty, life, and living I think economically, using creativity and innovation to manage my finances so well, I am never hungry again. I carry that economical way of thinking to my marriage and learn to bake and cook everything I want to eat for myself and my family adding a healthy lifestyle to the menu.

Image by Annelise Lords

This bread is made with dates, raisins, prunes, apricots, extra virgin olive oil, vanilla soy-powered milk, vanilla, almond essence, whole wheat flour, and white flour. It’s delicious.

The pain of hunger never visits again, and it’s passed on to my kids. I save thousands of dollars cooking instead of eating out and am healthier too.

My twin boys watched me cook and bake bread. I bake and decorate their birthday cakes, and make pizza and delicious sticky buns that they enjoyed.

They have been cooking their own meals since they were eighteen years old. They are twenty-three years old now.

Thanks to my mother, I solved the hunger problems for my generation.

I live with my mother, but I raised myself. I was sent to school, if I wanted to learn, that’s my business. She doesn’t know how I learn in school and if I failed or succeeded.

I wanted to learn because I had lots of dreams without the means or resources for any of them to come through.

Children with dreams don’t think that their dreams won’t come through.

I made sure that my children’s dreams came true by providing the means and resources for them.

I did the opposite of everything that she did to me for my children. I am involved in their lives providing opportunities for them that weren’t available to me.

Her lack of love and the negative and dishonest ways she raised us and treated us inspired me to be better and do better after witnessing the consequences of her actions.

By doing the opposite of what she did, it aids in removing regrets in many areas of my life. I am stronger, smarter, good with my finances, and a better mother to my children. In the process, I slowed down the cycle of poverty thanks to her.

Today, I want to thank my mother for the inspiration.

Life taught me that if you love where you are now, thank your journey and inspiration.

Inspiration doesn’t always come from the joys of life or the ones we care about that are good to us. It sometimes comes from sadness, cruelty, and pain — Annelise Lords

Thank you for reading this piece. I hope you enjoyed it.

successself helphow tohealinggoals
Like

About the Creator

Annelise Lords

Annelise Lords writes short inspiring, motivating, thought provoking stories that target and heal the heart. She has added fashion designer to her name. Check out https: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtisticYouDesigns?

for my designs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.